Countdown To The World Fantasy Convention in Toronto

Yes, as of this week I am starting to prepare. I know it’s still six months away, but that will pass quickly and the next thing I know it’s two weeks away and I’m nowhere near as ready as I’d like to be. What do I need to prepare for? Well, off the top of my head;

Business cards: Yes, I want to have a pile of business cards to hand out. I’m not sure what goes on at these conferences, but at the metaphysical conference I attended last year, I had several people ask me for them.

Babysitter: Still not sure if Sithboy is going with us. It’ll be in the first couple months of his first year of highshool and I have no idea what his study habits will be like. We have two options here, my mother or husband’s mother. He seems more comfortable around Husbands mother, but my mother lives closer to his school.

Animals: We’ll be gone for our days so I’ll need to make sure the CatPack are taken care of. We have those food and water dispensers, so I’m not worried there. I might buy two more just because they can be little piggies. Also going to need at least two more litter boxes. We have one and a half now, the half being one of those cheap plastic things. I’m pretty good at keeping up with it too. I don’t walk past it without scoping something out.

Clothing: I know, trivial, right, but to me it isn’t. I have two outfits I plan on wearing, but I still want two more. Then, of course, there’s foot wear, and comfy clothing…

Appearance: Okay, yes, I’ll admit it, I dye my hair. :P Husband has offered to do it for me, but I’ve declined. There are just some things a girl has to have done professionally.

For those of you who have been to conferences, am I forgetting anything? Hotel is booked and membership paid. Don’t need a passport as I live in the same country.

Anything else I need to put on my list?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is the author of stories in several genres, but she prefers the three 'S'; Supernatural, Steampunk, and Science Fiction. She has stories published in several online magazines including Bewildering Stories and Aphelion. When not busy writing, she looks after one wannabe rock star, one husband, three cats, and one ghost dog.

8 Responses to Countdown To The World Fantasy Convention in Toronto

  1. Pack a pen and notebook because you’ll be taking lot of notes. Definitely get a professional looking business card with your pertinent information like: blog, web site, Facebook, Twitter, etc.

    Talk to everyone. You never know who you might meet. :)

    Oh, and years ago I wrote an article on networking at conferences.
    Here’s the url: http://wow-womenonwriting.com/16-how2.html

  2. Rina Weisman says:

    If you like, you can have postcards or whatever made up advertising your books; you can leave those out at the literature tables for people to take home. 200-300 is more than sufficient. Most authors do some form of self-promotion this way. If you have a high tolerance for alcohol, that’s good too ;) Most of the networking is done at the bar! It’s a conference with a high percentage of professionals, so no costuming is allowed; it’s like a trade show in that regard. As my grandmother used to say when we’d ask what to wear for her formal dinners “Just come dressed.”

    • Oh, good idea. A post card would show off the cover art, and people LOVE the cover art! As for alcohol, not ashamed to say I used to be able to drink most men under the table. Now, not too sure. One or two limit is about all I can do.

  3. I’m basically a Fail at conferences and conventions. We’ve been going to Baycon for at least four years and we still don’t know anybody. We are the introvert’s introvert.

    This year I am taking postcards and business cards about my book. I’m also thinking of having a ribbon made, because people who pass out ribbons are considered to be higher on the evolutionary scale. I just can’t think of a good tagline for it.

    “In an alternate universe, does the iceberg win?”

    You see my problem.

    Anyhoo, to answer your question, I think you’ve got most ideas covered. I do suggest bringing some healthful food along (you knew I was going to, right?), because the junk they serve at these things, along with so-so restaurant food, will make you sick. And you want to be at your best, right? Having a healthful lunch in your room saves some money too. However, if lunch in the restaurant gives you a chance to hobnob with others, go for it. That’s what you’re there for.

    Don’t forget to have fun!

    • Rina Weisman says:

      Folks – just be aware that WFC is nothing like BayCon or WorldCon, or other regional convention. It’s a great, unique, and professional conference with a minimum of fans attending, and a majority of professionals attending, to discuss and talk about the work of being an author/publisher/agent/reviewer of SFFH literature. It’s most definitely not a fannish convention, so that does mean there’s no costuming, no ribbons allowed on badges, and it’s a great place for networking as a professional in the field. It’s my favourite convention – a ton of fun, and you’ll have a great time. The parties are especially fun!

    • Food. Never thought of that. And it’ll be heading into winter and I’ll be too tempted to take ‘comfort food’ with me. A nice trip to Bulk Barn should do the trick.

      Thanks! I’m adding that!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 994 other followers

