It is time to write that story?

Quill-InkOne of the biggest complaints I hear from all authors, it about horrible infliction known as Writer’s Block. It is the bane of every writer’s existence and we all experience some form of it at least once in our careers. Yet I have a new take on it. What if we’re not blocked? What if the words are there, but it’s just not the right time for us to put them on paper?

I believe there is an ‘order’ in which our ideas are to come to fruition. Have you ever ‘trunked’ a story, only to resurrect it later and complete it? Ever have problems with a plot, put it aside, only to be struck days, weeks or months later with an incredible idea that makes sense? Everything has a time and a place, and maybe we, as writers, are tapping into some incredible creative force, that controls how much creativity we can get at a single moment? Sounds really off the wall, doesn’t it, but it makes sense. At least to me, it does.

I don’t think it’s confined to just writing either. Years ago, when I was learning how to knit, I was working on knitting with three needles, and I couldn’t get the hang of it. No matter how many times I tired, so I put it away and didn’t pick it up again for several months. I don’t know what made me try again, I just felt this need to, and to my surprise, I got it. The thing that struck me the most was how easy it was now. Why couldn’t I do it before? Maybe because it wasn’t ‘the right time’ for me to learn how to do it. That for some reason I was meant to learn how to do 3-needle knit later on. I’ve had this with my writing as well.

Now I don’t try to understand the forces that work around me, I just go with the flow, so to speak, and if they tell me that a story isn’t ready, I listen and put it away until the time is right. With all the pressure I’ve put on myself over getting this novel ready, it’s nice to take some off.         

 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

