What’s the rush, people?

Quill-InkIs it me, or are more and more writers rushing to get their novels published? I can’t understand where this urgency has come from. It’s like paranoia has gripped the writing community, and new writers have to get their books published RIGHT NOW! Is there a time limit to become a published writer that I haven’t heard about? The thing is, you know what you get when you rush something, right?

CRAP!

I’ve been working on my novel for over two years and I’m only conceding that it’s ready now. That’s two years of writing, revising, plot and character developing. Learning how to do things properly, because I don’t want to send it out until it’s as perfect as I can make it. I’ve joined several writing communities in the last few years to help me accomplish this. I’ve been learning as much about writing and the publishing world as I can. It was one of the first things I did when I decided to take my writing serious.

Having said that, in the last year I’ve seen new writers join, looking for help on their query/novel as it was rejected by an agent/editor. When I look over their work it’s easy to see why. You don’t expect to sell a painting without taking a few lessons first, or playing in an orchestra without proper knowledge of an instrument, so why do people think you can sit down at a typewriter or computer, bang away for a few months, and have something that’s publishable?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to What’s the rush, people?

  1. I don’t think everything released quickly is crap. I’ve read a lot of authors who are spectacular and release up to 4 a year. That being said, I’ve read authors who churn out 4 a year and cringe. Quantity should not win out over quality.

Leave a Reply

