Friday Writing Update

NOVEL: The Saints of Belvedere Road

So far, edits are going good. I’m very impressed with my writing skills lately. My re-writes have been really good, and not weighed down like they usually are. Even that little editor in my head has been spot on, picking out stuff I probably wouldn’t have seen a few years ago. Proof, that it takes time to develop your writing skills. I just have one chapter left, and I know I need to add more to it. At least at the end. It feels rather anti-climactic.  

Guardian

This will be my next novel. It’s a sci-fi/fantasy ala Star Wars. Which means, I really have to hide the influence. Hopefully I’ve done that. Read the chapter I wrote a while back, and it’s not too bad, but there’s a lot of infodump in it, and I’ve referenced my novella (set in the same universe)quite a bit at the beginning. I’m still wondering if I should have the novella as a Prologue.  

SHORT STORY: Strings

I finished this short story last week and sent it out to a good friend to look over. I added about six-hundred more words, giving more detail to the characters and situation. It lacked a strong conflict and was rather weak. I think it’s more poignant now. Not much conversing between characters, it’s not really a dialogue-driven story, but at just over 2k, how can it be?        

Still nothing on either ‘FRIES WITH THAT?’, or ‘BLESS YOU’. I sent the former to the first ezine I ever subbed to. I was so embarrassed with the last submission; I thought it would be nice to try again.

Apart from that, I’ve not worked on any other shorts. I’ve been too focused on these edits and polish to.    

SCRIPT: Marked

Nothing on this.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

