One Million Words?

I read a post a while back about how many words a writer has to write before they’re…well, ready to be published. The author stated that new writers have to write, on average, one million words. Wow. That’s a lot of work, so I got to thinking about how many I’ve written over the last twenty some odd years.

1st Novel – 90k –Cindy’s Song

2nd Novel – 90k – Child of the Storm

3rd Novel – 100k -Dragonstone

4th Novel – 70k – Saints of Belvedere Road

1st  Novella – 40k Interlude

 2nd Novella – 16k Mistaken Reality

3rd Novella – 30k Echo Lake

436k total.

 

With short stories I have published I can probably add around another 10k so that brings it up to 446k. Not even to the half way mark. I’ve written a hundreds of pages for scripts, so I’ll add that too.

The Watchtower; Pilot and Episode 2 – 25.5k

471.5k.

If I add in the two novels I started, but didn’t finish;

Between The Shadows – 32,658k

Visions – 34,591

67,249k

Last, but not least, the short stories I’ve been working on. There are five for a grand total of 7954.

So, for all my creative work, I have a grand total of 546,703k worth of words. 453,297k short of one million.

Keep in mind this total does not include rewrites or revisions, but final numbers, and I’m only guessing for the first two novels as I wrote them in pen. So, does that mean I’m not ready to be published? Do I need to write another four novels before I am? I understand it’s just a guideline, but when you add up the numbers, it a little staggering.

Still, I’m pretty proud of myself. That’s a lot of words, and a lot of math. Have you completed your [sarcasm alert] required one million words? Do you even this this is relevant? I will admit the best way for a writer to learn how to write is by actually doing it, so maybe this word count does have some relevancy.

What do you think?   

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

