Friday Writing Update

I’m adding a new section to this weekly blog post called AGENT INQUIRIES, where I plan on putting all updates relevant to my search for an agent. So, on that note;

AGENT INQUIRIES:

I’ve checked into two agencies this week, and the first one I was very hopeful. Agency One only wanted Canadian submissions, so I had that going for me, but when I looked over their list of novels they represent, there wasn’t one that fell into my genre. They said fiction, but I don’t think it was my kind of fiction. Anything close was YA, along the lines of Harry Potter. I could sub to them, but I keep thinking about all those blog posts by agents that say one of the biggest mistakes new writers make is subbing something they don’t represent.   

Agency Two sounds a bit better. They have someone there who reads my genre. Well, fantasy. I didn’t see anything about paranormal thriller, but then I also write scifi and they rep. that, so I think this will be my first submission. I’m not quite ready yet; I have my synopsis to revise first. The first of March. That’s my starting date.

NOVEL: The Saints of Belvedere Road

I worked on chapter twelve this week, and I think it’s finished, but I asked one of my Beta’s if it felt ‘wrapped up’ enough. I’m staying away from it, except for when my Beta’s send back their review, but apart from that, I don’t even look at it. I think I’ve looked at it enough. 

Guardian

I haven’t started this project yet. I’m going to wait until the beginning of March. I want SAINTS as finished as possible before I start something new. I looked over Mistaken Reality, and realized it’s not as long as I thought. Only 16k, and with all the crap in it I’m sure I can cut it down to 10. I’ve also decided to leave it in as a Prologue. I know some people don’t like them, but this isn’t full of backstory or info-dump at all. It’s an incident that takes place before the main story, that is directly connected to the overall plot. It also involves a good portion of the characters for the entire series. It also helps to explain why the main character-Draken-decides to leave the Guild. Which is what he’s contemplating at the opening of the novel.

So here is how the series stands.

Book One; Guardian

Books Two and Three: Recruit and Apprentice.

Books Four and Five: Rogue and Master

Book Six: Defender. 

I originally had 2-5 as a series, VOICE OF THE ORACLE, but decided to break it up into two groups of two. I have a great Segway planned too. Four of the characters are going to be on a field trip when one of the characters is kidnapped at the end of Book Three. The story will continue in 4 and 5, but in the POV of the kidnapped character.

I am really excited about these projects.  

SHORT STORY:

Still nothing on either ‘FRIES WITH THAT?’, or ‘BLESS YOU’, and I haven’t touched any other short stories.

SCRIPT: Marked

Excellent progress on this. I’ve kept to my schedule of writing six pages a day, and I should be at 120 by the end of the month. I’m finding that I’m moving away slightly from the plot that I sketched out, but I’m still following it as a plot. Just some of the smaller details are different.

I really wish I knew someone who was more verse in this media than myself. I have tried to join forums where they critique scripts, but for some reason the memberships have to be approved and I’ve never received an email approving my mine. Any suggestions?            

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

