Friday Writing Update.

In case you haven’t heard, BLESS YOU has been picked up by 6Tales e-zine. More below. 

AGENT INQUIRIES:

Well, I’m ready for my first week of querying my novel. I checked out all the agencies in Canada (there weren’t that many) and I found five that fell within my guidelines. It’s sad, though, just five. I know I’m in for a long ride with this, but a part of me is happy that it’s here. I’ve read so much about other writer’s ups and downs with the querying process, that I began to feel left out. Well, soon I will be part of this group, and I can hardly wait to get my first agent rejection!

NOVEL: The Saints of Belvedere Road

Went through and wrote up a one page synopsis this week. One of the agencies request this on their submission page. I found it a good creative exercise to condense a 70k novel into one page; five-hundred words. I just hope it’s good enough, but geez, doesn’t really tell much except the very bare bones of the story. 

Guardian

I’m hoping to start working on this Monday. I’ve got one chapter written already from a few years ago so I want to go over and clean it up. I’m going to try to write a thousand words a day with a goal for having it done by May 31. That would put it at 92k. I’m not sure if it’ll be that long, maybe it’ll be longer I won’t know until it’s done.

SHORT STORY:

Last Monday I looked over the site I’d sent BLESS YOU to, and noticed (for the first time) that there hadn’t been a new flash piece posted since before Christmas. How the hell I didn’t see that until now, I don’t know, but it explains why I didn’t hear back from them when I sent a query wondering why I hadn’t heard from them! So, I sent it off Monday morning to another e-zine and it got rejected that morning. The editor thought it was all potential, but he was really nice about it. It was the nicest rejection letter I’ve ever received too. They even offered to look at something else of mine, so I will send something if one of the other stories are rejected.

I sent the same piece off in the afternoon to another e-zine and it was accepted a few hours later. Just goes to show you, no matter what, you shouldn’t give up.    

I also sent out STRINGS this week. I sent it to an e-zine that’s published another of my short stories. I’m hoping I can persuade them to re-name my other stories to my pen name, but if not, that’s fine too. So I have two short stories out still; FRIES WITH THAT and STRINGS. I’m hoping next week will be a good week too.

I also outlined two new short stories. Both are paranormal. I also outlined a short story I’m collaborating on with another writer. I’ve never written with anyone else before, this should be very interesting. Not sure how to go about it either. I’ mean, does she write a paragraph then I write a paragraph? Geez, I’m gonna be real busy for March.  

SCRIPT: Marked

Again another excellent week of progress on this. I lapsed a bit with keeping to my schedule, and have reduced it to three pages a day. I can overlap the script with the new novel next month. Script Frenzy starts in April, but I don’t know if I’ll be ready for it. Not even sure what I would work on next for that medium.

You have no idea how glad I am to have a laptop. Makes writing on the couch so much easier.

 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

