Hobbies! – New Knitting Project

I love to knit. I discovered it when I was about seventeen, when my mother was knitting a wrap for my grandmother. I remember the yarn, soft pastels of yellow, blue and pink. I learned on an extra ball she had left over, and I’ve loved it ever since. I’ve knitted a baby blanket for my best friend, skirts, several sweaters for the family, and plenty of scarfs and mittens. I find it relaxing even though it strains my eyesight even more than writing.  My latest project is a scarf, but not one that would really keep me warm, it’s more of an accessory. I’m using eyelash yarn, and it’s a bugger. If you’ve never used it, be warned, it’s a real bugger. I bought the last three balls of a black/red combo and knitting it up on 4cm needles at 20 st.


Eyelash yarn is beautiful, but like I said a real bugger. So many floating pieces getting in the way of the main thread and you can easily lose track of your stitches and either add more or drop them. Maybe that’s why it’s not very popular any more. When it first came out I made a scarf, and two balls cost me over $13 with tax. The three I bought the other night cost me less that $12

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

