One Writer; Two Genres (or three, or four, or five)

One thing I’ve found since I joined the writing community, is there are a growing number of people who write in more than one genre. Myself included. When I started, I wrote primarily science fiction, yet now I have ideas in seven different genre’s that span three different formats. I con

It could be a problem as well, especially now that I’m at the querying stage.

Agents list what they rep. on their websites, and I found that some that rep. fantasy don’t rep. science fiction. A problem, as I do want my scifi novels published as well. When I asked on a forum I frequent about what I should do, I was met with the very realistic possibility that I MAY NOT get these other novels published, and that whatever genre of my first novel, that will be the one I will be expected to write in for the rest of my career. Disheartening, to say the least. I do not dispute this. Those who are more knowledgeable about this business than I, told it to me.

What happens to my other non-paranormal projects? Will I have to find another agent for them? I do have short stories published that are science fiction. Would that work to establish myself as a writer of both? It also begs the question, if I’m not along in writing multiple genres, are these other writers finding success? What about those who combine genre’s like YA Steampunk, or Paranormal Scifi?

I dread the idea of creating another pen name, even though I do have more science fiction than paranormal. Right now, I’m at a loss. Maybe if/when I find an agent they can help me with this. I’d really hate to lose these other projects.

What about you? Do you write in multiple genres? What obstacles have you faced in getting published?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

