Friday Writing Update

AGENT:

I have received rejections, as was expected, but it wasn’t as heart breaking as I thought it would be, and they had a very nice tone to them too. Very chipper! Made me feel good to receive them. I’m thinking around the beginning of the next month I’m going to go through my list and start checking the response times. Some agencies won’t reply if they aren’t interested, but give a wait time, so if I haven’t heard anything from them in a certain period of time, to consider it rejected.

I’ve also started jotting down the names of agents who do not accept email queries. I may have jumped the gun on this. If there are enough, I may end up purchasing American stamps. I don’t want to discount my options. I’m just going to have to watch my money when it comes to mailing them. Some want just a query letter, others samples. The sample ones will cost more so I have to be careful.         

NOVEL: Guardian

Wow, talk about revisions. I’ve been working on the first chapter for two weeks now. I thought I would be done sooner than this. It isn’t so much the writing is crap, but rather piecing in new stuff and making it fit into the flow. I still need to write out a chapter-by-chapter summery. I’m hoping to keep this one to around twelve chapters as well.

Decided to break chapter one into two chapters. I was at just over 7k by the break, and to me, that was too long. I’m not a fan of long chapters, but that’s just my style.

So far, I’ve stranding the male MC on an asteroid circling a star that’s about to go nova. How’s that for an opening.  

SHORT STORY: Date Night.

Worked on my erotic piece this week. I think I’ll try to sub it to an ezine instead of the anthology. I’m just not sure enough about my skills in this genre yet, to make such a submission. Maybe after I’ve written a few more, I’ll feel comfortable about subbing to something that big.

Still waiting to hear back about FRIES WITH THAT. I’m thinking I should look over STRINGS again and get that back out into the market. Would like to work on THE 25TH HOUR as well. Those, along with the collaboration story are the only ones I have on my plate.

SCRIPT: Marked

This story is getting confusing. I’m going back and editing things instead of just getting it down and worrying about details later. I keep getting ideas and adding them in, that’s not good. I still don’t know if I should have any romance between the two leads. Right now, she’s more in charge than he is. So odd. Good thing, I found a site where the blogger also writes scripts and I can check to see if I’m formatting things right.   

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

