Week Three; I am dreading formatting!

As I travel deeper along this digital path, one thing keeps cropping up and trying to snag me—formatting. The biggest concern I’ve found is that there is no one set format for all eRreaders, which can lead to confusion, not to mention a complete brain meltdown on my part. I have found a program that was highly recommended by AQCrew, and the best part about it, it’s free!

Now, before I do anything, I ran it past my digital guru friend, Karen Newton, and she uses it, so bonus on my part. She listed the pro’s and con’s, and from the sounds of it, it’s a good program to learn with. It’s not the best, but it will give me an idea of what to expect when it comes to formatting the novelette. Something else grabbed my attention as well. Book covers. I’ll have to design my own, and I’m fine with that. Most people have Photoshop, I don’t so I’ll use my Paint.net program. Again, this is free and they have a wonderful online site for tutorials.

As for my novel, I’ve added about 1k more worth of words in the last few weeks, and I’m pretty happy with that. I think the bugger part is going to be the revisions to the old story and for some reason when I paste and copied it from one program to another, the entire thing came out as one long paragraph, so I have to break everything up.                 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

