Friday Writing Update

NOVELETTE: Echo Lake.

I portioned out the story this week. I’ve got about six chapters altogether. Most will have to be heavily revised/edited, and replaced with new stuff. Stuff that makes sense. I’m hoping to have it all revised by the end of May. 
 

SHORT STORY: The 25th Hour

This is turning into a creepy story. I’ve combined an idea that Sithboy and I worked on last summer, and I might have a sequel to it, with a gargoyle idea. Now that would be cool.

I’m working on it only on the weekends. I’ve said in the past that the weekends were for family, but I can squeeze in about 500 words a day. They don’t mind. It’s better than me going crazy because I have this creative energy and no way to explore it, and writing out blog topics only uses up so much.       

SERIAL: The Watchtower: Terror Tower

I plotted out the entire Watchtower series this week. I think 12 stories are enough to tell the whole thing. Even have a good idea about the final battle too, although I’m debating on whether or not to have it as a stand-alone novel, or part of the series.

All instalments will be no more four chapters per story and a word count of around 20k each. I was working on a story blurb for the second story, and came up with a really neat title, but of course, I forgot to write any of it down and lost it.    

I’m also wondering if I should change the name of the series. On an Agent Query Connect chat, I showed the mock up book cover to the group and a few of them said it reminded them of the JW magazine. I don’t know. I’m torn. The Watchtower seems so fitting as they are living in a tower and watching over the planet.

 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

