You’re too emotional!

I hear that a lot. Not about my writing, but about myself in general. Yeah, it’s easy to make me cry, but it’s easier to piss me off.

Emotions are a tricky thing for me as a writer, especially when my character is confronted by something I have no base reference for. You always hear, “Write what you know”, but come on, how is anyone supposed to know the emotional state of someone being chased by a monster? I know that sounds a little far-fetched, and people will say, “Well, they’d be scared.” Would they? I mean seriously, if you saw a zombie staggering down the road outside of your house, would you run away screaming? Or would you stand there, shake your head and think, WTF? I know, that’s taking it to the extreme, but that’s how I think when confronted with that type of writing situation.

I think, this is where we writers of scifi and fantasy have a bit of a harder time than other genre’s. Literary fiction, and non-fiction have a base reference for emotions. We know how the characters are feeling during their conflicts because we can sympathize with them. We understand their emotions.  Even in a pirate book, we can sympathize with the situation because pirates and the terror they caused were real. It happened. With speculative fiction–not so much. How does one incite the terror of being chased by a monster? 

What about you? Do you find it difficult to express emotions in your work?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

