Arg! Watch out for them, there PIRATES!

No, I’m not talking about the ones that look like Johnny Depp or Orlando Bloom.

I am loving all these new novels I’ve been finding and reading for my kindle app. It amazes me to no end the well of creativity that resides in people, and I can’t say enough times that this is a great time to be a writer. Yet I have found a pitfall. Piracy. I only know of one author who’s had his work pirated, and as far as I’m concerned, that’s one too many.

What can we do to keep this from happening to our work? Copyrighting is one very important option. I’m not sure on prices, as I think they vary from country to country, but make sure you have one on all your work. It might sound like a common sense thing, but you’d be surprised. And make sure your Copyright is situated where people can see it. Preferably right under the title. Some self-published books I’ve read the Copyright is buried within all the ‘Oscar Speech’ of acknowledgments.    

You could place alerts specifically for the names of your novels. Google and Yahoo have web alerts that pop up quickly enough to your email, but there has to be other ways to keep these stealers of novels away from us. One thought was the .99 cent novel. The reasoning is; if your novel is already cheap, then it makes no sense that a pirate would steal your novel and price it lower. If that’s even possible. Maybe for free, but wouldn’t that defeat the purpose of pirating the novel in the first place?

I’m not trying to scare anyone away from self-publishing, I just want you on your toes. Oh, and in case you don’t think lightning strikes twice in the same place, same author has his sequel pirated as well.

 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

