Jump out of that box!

All my life (or at least as long as I can remember), I’ve been a fan of science fiction and fantasy. It takes me to places I could never visit in real life, and escapism that sparked my creative energies and brought me to writing. Over the years I’ve read a number of genre books, immersed myself in genre-specific  online communities and made friends with those like me, because they say, if you’re going to write a certain genre, then you should be reading it, right? Yet every now and then I read something that doesn’t fall into my niche, it throws me for a loop.

Case in point, I am exchanging chapters with another writer that I met through one of these communities.  I read the first chapter and there were elements of science fiction, but as I got farther along, the scifi wasn’t as prominent as I first thought. After talking to the author, turns out it wasn’t really a scifi novel, but rather a ROMANCE WITH SCIFI ELEMENTS.

And here I’m telling her she needs more scifi in her scifi story!

*egg* *face* *splat*

My point is, even though you may love one genre, it’s good to break out and explore something new. Don’t limit yourself to the restrictions of reading something you feel comfortable with. Branch out! If your scifi has some romance in it, why not check out a few romance novels to see how they do it, or, if there’s a particularly gruesome (or you’d like it to be) scene in your steampunk, mosey (did I just say mosey?) on over to a horror or gothic novel. Discover the small nuances that make these genre’s spectacular, and learn how to reconstruct them for your own projects. I guarantee you’ll grow as a writer, and the story will be much better for it.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

3 Responses to Jump out of that box!

  1. ketmakkura says:

    In the major project I’m planning, the last book has scifi elements. It’s not a scifi story, but there is a little in there.

    I’m a fan of genre salad stories. Horror with fantasy mixed in? Awesome. Historical gay romantic thriller with comedic elements? Rockin’. I’ll take two. I like to think of genre as color, not a limit. You can mix colors to get all kinds of interesting shades.

Leave a Reply

