June’s Moon; The Dyad Moon

This months’ moon name is the Dyad Moon. It’s also known as Rose Moon, Strawberry Moon, Lotus Moon, Green Corn Moon, Windy Moon, Moon of Horses, and the Lovers Moon. So many names it’s hard to focus on just one. I like the name Dyad Moon. Feels more Pagan.

June is the first month where we get warm enough temperatures that I can be outside for a rite. I love sitting outside in the dark listening to the sounds of the night. Most of the references I found for ritual work consisted with love, marriage or re-affirming our goals that we created a few months back.

By-the-way—the seeds didn’t make it.

I think I will re-affirm my commitment to my path this month. I haven’t been very diligent with this, opting to spend more time writing and real life. One could say that by being creative and spending time with family is worship as well, but I guess I still harbour that Christian ritual of doing something directly connected to the mystical aspect for it to feel real.

I found a simple rite in one of Scot Cunningham’s books; LIVING WICCA: A Further Guide For The Solitary Practitioner, and I’ve played with it and come up with something I can use.

Mother Goddess, be here with me.

I wish for you to be present at my full moon rite, as I re-affirm my dedication you.

I ask for your guidance and your knowledge, Great Lady.

Help me to understand the mysteries of the world around me, and to find my place within it.

 I think I will meditate and listen to the sounds of the night and hear any secrets the Goddess wishes to bestow on me. I must remember to thank the Goddess for her presence.

You know, this was a simple enough rite, maybe I can find the time each month to do this.

I wish we had a fence. I’d like to do it Skyclad.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

