I need your help.

I need some help from you, your opinion. I’m releasing my first eBook in September—The Watchtower, the first in a series, and I was wondering, which do you think is more preferable for book covers?

Should they be uniform in design? Say having all the same picture but just the text different? Or should they each have their own picture, perhaps depicting some part of the novel?

This is the cover for the first book;

 

 And this is the cover for the second;

 

But I was thinking about just changing the colour and having it uniform, like this;  

   

 What do you think?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

18 Responses to I need your help.

  1. sonyajohns says:

    I like the different colors. It makes each 1 stand out.

  2. The middle one up there is too cool to not use, Darke! I say, who cares if the covers don’t look the same? How many sequels do?

  3. I like the middle cover best. The other one – can’t even tell what it is. The red is okay, but the green is weird and unappetizing. Not that I plan on eating your book, but that’s the impression it gives me. But mostly, I’m concerned because I don’t know what I’m looking at, and that’s true of both the green and red covers.

    Also (you probably already saw this), is it “coven” or “cover”?

    Anyway, my votes for the different cover for the second book. I like that one.

  4. Angie Sandro says:

    Congrats on your book coming out in September. I bet you’re thrilled. Personally, I love the colors and design, and I think by keeping the covers uniform it’ll set your brand.

    • Thanks for stopping by! Thrilled, anxious, paranoid. I’m running the gambit and will probably experience a few more in the next few months.

      See, that’s what I was wondering too–about brand. If people see the cover, they’ll automatically know it’s a Watchtower story, right?

  5. T.S. Welti says:

    Is your book YA, adult, fantasy, horror, thriller…? Need to know before I can give full opinion. But of these three, I like the middle one best, if you change the font color. 🙂

    Good luck in September!

  6. Cherie says:

    I like the middle cover because it caught my interest. The red and the green ones seem too plain. You could probably add a text line that says for example: Book 1 of the Watchtower series. Or something similar, and then play with the covers however you want them to appear. Just my 2 cents. 😉

    Goodluck!

    • Thanks for posting!

      Right now I’m on the fence about this. I really like both, and I did have a tag line stating it was the second book. Gah, this is harder than I thought!

  7. R.C. Lewis says:

    Remember, e-book covers are often tiny when the reader sees them. It’s likely to be tough to see a line about it being Book One/Book Two of the Watchtower Series.

    One other thing to consider is what they’ll look like in grayscale, because that’s how most readers using Kindles or other e-ink readers will see it. I suspect the cyan text of the middle one will blend into the background when turned gray. If you can find a way to make the text more distinct for the first cover, too (the black text on the dark red background feels a little fuzzy), I think it’d make it even better.

    Personally, I’m a fan of there being some kind of trait that ties series covers together. (For instance, the fake covers for my series all have a forest backdrop and an iconic imprint. The forest photo is different in each one, as is the icon and general color scheme.) But it could be as simple as taking the same base cover and switching the overall cover, as you have here.

    • Thanks for dropping by!
      You know, I never thought about greyscale. When I converted the first book cover, the title does almost blend in. I’m thinking I should be thinking greyscale when creating these covers. I like simple, clean covers like the first one. Maybe I can design something that is simple, can be used multiple times and looks good in both colour and grey.

  8. I actually am not that fond of the middle cover. For one thing, I found the typography difficult to read against that background– not enough contrast. I do like the idea of having the series have similar covers, but the green is a tad bilious and side by side they will look lie Christmas. I would be tempted to rework the 3rd cover to a different color, maybe orangey red or purplish red. I would also be sure the font matches.

    Just my take on it. Worth every penny you paid me for it!

  9. ketmakkura says:

    I like the different color too. I’d go with that.

Leave a Reply

