Let the waiting…begin

I despise waiting. It has nothing to do with the cultural ‘on demand’ attitude that we have now. I’ve never been one for patience. Ask my family. I want everything YESTERDAY, and there’s a certain anxiety that accompanies this character flaw. It’s something I don’t think I’ll ever learn to accept.

Not even in my writing.

I think waiting for a response from agents/editors has to be the worst thing on the planet. At least, for me it is. Maybe it’s that Aries part of me that is excited about moving forward with a project, and waiting is nothing more than being at a standstill. I know what you’re going to say, it’s all part of the writing career process, I know that, doesn’t mean I can handle it any better. I don’t envy those of you who can wait either. Nothing personal, I just don’t understand how you can process it.

I try to fill the time by working on other things, hence the fact I have three or four project on the go at the same time, but that brings about its own form of anxiety, and I’m right back where I started. Meditation? Forget it. I LIKE my mind full of chaos. Brings me my best ideas. I guess this is just my little character flaw that I’ll have to live with. I don’t think I can ‘fix’ it, don’t know if I want too either.

So, as I wait for the acceptance or rejection of yet another short story and my full manuscript request, I will have to bide my time and not drive my family and friends nuts. I’m pretty sure they can handle it, questions is, can I?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Let the waiting…begin

  1. ketmakkura says:

    I’m impatient AND paranoid; not a good combo. If something drags on, I assume the worse while I wait, wait, wait for a resolution. Makes me crazy.

  2. I know that feeling. It’s like you know what they’re going to reply and you just want them to reject you so you can move on.

Leave a Reply

