Pets!

WordPress posted this blog prompt: Do you have any pets?

Do I have any pest or pets? Some days they feel like it’s the former. Don’t get me wrong, I love my furry four-legged friends, but not when they sit outside of my bedroom door and meow for me to let them in, or whatever it is they want. And trust me, if you have cats, you know they ALWAYS want something.

I’ve had other pets in the past, so I’m not a strict cat person. Husband and I had two dogs before Sithboy was born. My Sara was a mixed breed dog, and Floyd was a beagle. I had a beagle when I was a teen too. Named Lady. First dog I ever had as a pet. Looked after Step-Daughters two mice (can’t remember their names. Don’t think she named them, actually). I had a rat named Matt. two ferrets, a black lab/Doberman mix (that was interesting. Kept throwing pebbles in the air), a Guinea pig and then there were the seven or so hamsters (not all at once) who all had the same name because they died so soon after purchase my mother kept buying new ones so I wouldn’t know. Oh, and two gerbils.

Do fish count? I don’t think they should as you can’t really interact with them. They’re more of a decoration than a pet.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Pets!

  1. DawnGSparrow says:

    Fish count! Mine do anyway. I have a Beta right now, and have more than one at a time. They do tricks (i.e. jump up to eat food from my fingers) So I definitely play with my fish! I have two FIV+ cats and two dogs as well (an old hound and shepherd/collie mix). I love my furry and finny friends, though they make me absolutely crazy!
    Great post Darke!

    • All our fish died. We must have gone through thirty fish in the space of a year. The only one that I really liked was my Angel fish, but she was pretty aggressive. Kept eating the smaller ones. The last batch we had, all died within a two week period. I said no more. We were literally flushing money down the toilet.

  2. kmcambion says:

    I dunno, I feel the same way about fish–you can’t pet them or play with them, so they’re just decorations you have to feed.

    I’ve had a few dogs and cats growing up, but with the exception of the first family dog, Jasper, none of them were mine. I owned quite a few mice just myself and I enjoyed having them, but I never will again. They die too quickly and it’s heartbreaking.

Leave a Reply

