The CW Fall Preview

They say if you want to write movie/television scripts to watch as much of the medium as possible. I find there isn’t a lot on television that I DO like, so I look forward to the fall previews. First up, the new lineup for the CW. They have five new shows premiering; three drama’s and two ‘reality’.

Heart of Dixie: A young woman, fresh out of medical school, is offered an internship working under a country doctor. She refuses, until the scholarship she wants requires her to work one year as G/P. She takes the old doctor’s offer, and heads to the small town, only to discover he’s died and left his practices to her. Things get interesting when she learns the old man was really her estranged father.

I did like this idea; old time doctor bumps heads with new gen. doctor and they’ve set up some interesting conflicts and tension points.

Ringer: A recovering addict moves in with her twin, only to have the twin commit suicide and the addict assumes her sister’s life.

I really like this idea. Did she kill her sister? Did someone else? So much conflict and possible storylines. I think this could be a hit.

Secret Circle: A young teen discovers, after her mother’s death, that she is a witch.

This is from the creators of The Vampire Diaries and airs right after. No doubt they’re hoping Vampire Diaries fans will stick around. I don’t know. I was interested in Vampire diaries when they premiered it last year (didn’t watch past the first episode), and this didn’t really grab me at all.   

I’m not a big fan of ‘reality’ shows, but I’m going to say right now, I hope the CW’s reality show HATERS, where celebs get to meet the people who blog nasty things about them, won’t last long. Sorry. It’s the whole, ‘rewarding bad behaviour’ premise. I mean come on, people are going to be slamming everyone just to get the chance of meeting the person they’re talking bad about?

Meh…a possible two out of five shows I’ll watch. I wonder what the other networks have up their sleeves.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

