Autumn Dinner Celebration – Part 2; The Food Review

Dinner was good. Took me the better part of the afternoon to prepare and cook everything, except the stew. Stew is always better the day after you make it. The pumpkin soup wasn’t what I expected. For some reason I thought it wouldn’t be so bland, but it’s pumpkin. What did I expect? I guess pumpkin pie soup? 😛 Husband said it was better than the expensive gourmet soups you get in the store, so that made me feel really good! I guess the corn bread was good. I’ve never had it before, so I don’t have anything to compare it too. I was really careful with the batter. It’s just like banana bread and I messed that up the last time I made it. Again, Husband said it was really good. He said it was like having Dolly Parton cook him a meal. I have no idea where he got that from. I am neither blonde or THAT well-endowed, and you don’t want to hear me sing.

Sithboy didn’t like any of it. I did manage to get one spoonful of soup into him before he balked at the whole meal, but that was only because there were real bacon pieces on top. I didn’t make anything for dessert as we were going in to see in-laws, and my Mother-in-law always makes some. This time, she made chocolate cupcakes with real raspberries inside.

OMG. I scarfed down four.

Anyway, overall I think supper was a success. Don’t know if I would make the pumpkin soup again, unless Husband asked me. Cornbread-yes. I rather enjoyed that. Looking forward to doing a special dinner for Samhain now.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Autumn Dinner Celebration – Part 2; The Food Review

  1. I looked at your soup recipe. It seemed like it should be good, although I’m not sure about the sour cream. I’ve always just used regular cream in mine. If the only pumpkin people have had is in pie or other desserts, it’s a surprise for them to find out that pumpkin is not sweet. In that sense, savory pumpkin recipes are an acquired taste. Once you get past expecting sweetness, you can learn to appreciate the rich flavor of real pumpkin.

    My mother was from Texas, and let me tell you, I know from cornbread! I love cornbread and fix it all the time. Believe me, you used a great recipe. It must have been awesome. A fun southern tip: eat leftover cornbread like a cereal, with buttermilk. Heaven.

  2. Nice! I really liked it and I must have mixed properly because it did turn out so nice.

  3. Suzanne says:

    I’m assuming you made the cornbread from scratch? Down here in the south, we have this little blue box called ‘Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix’. It makes as good a cornbread as any I’ve ever tasted. If you want me to, email me your address and I’ll send you some. Can you send cornbread mix over the U.S./Canada border??

    • Yes, I made it from scratch! Thanks for the offer, but I think the price for delivering a box here would be expensive, not to mention the duty. A two dollar box of mix could end up costing ten!

Leave a Reply

