It’s ALIVE!

For those of you who don’t know, my book—The Watchtower, went live Saturday morning. It’s now available– in digital form only—on both Smashwords and Amazon. Yes, I am very proud, but my work has only begun. Yes I’m talking about marketing or promoting.

I’ve lurked around writing blogs long enough to know not to expect instant success. Since Saturday, five copies have been downloaded, and three of those I know were free. The new digital age may mean more books out there for readers, and an easier venue for writers to publish, but with so many writers out there all vying for attention, I know that my one little book will be looked on as possible crap until people start reading it. Word of mouth is everything in this new digital age, and ‘slow but steady wins the race’ is my new mantra.

I’m not going to be one of those people who bombard others with ‘Buy my book! Buy my book!’ Publishing in the digital market is a more relaxed strategy. I don’t have to have big numbers right off the bat, or risk being shelved. With digital books, it’s always there. You want it? You know where to get it. I’ll be happy if I can make enough to pay for the formatting for the next book. Yes, there will be others. Starting today, I’m buckling down and working on the next two.

Oh, in case you’re interested, here are the links.

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005R1ERAQ

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/92898

This is truly a great time to be a writer.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to It’s ALIVE!

  1. Jean says:

    Ooooooo! Your book’s blurby had me at “Hello.” Must download!

    You say it is a good time to be a writer, heck, it’s a good time to be a reader!

  2. Thanks, Jean. I hope you like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

