Friday Writing Update

Just a little heads up. I know I’ve been infrequent lately, about posting updates. Sorry, but for some reason the last little while has been too hectic. At any rate starting next week and going until the middle of November, I won’t be doing any post on writing or updates. My blog tour starts on the 10th, and continues until November 16, which is a Wednesday. I’ll have an update on how it went the following Friday. In the meantime…

Novellas: Book Two: Under The Cover of Wicca

I’m almost done the first draft of chapter six for UNDER THE COVER OF WICCA. So far, I’m predicting a word count for just this completed draft of the book at over 25k. I’m thinking it might reach 30k when it’s done, but that’s still a few months away.      

Speaking of blog tours, I’ve fleshed out more details about the characters while doing interviews with them for my blog tour. Not only is each character a contradiction, but there’s something in their past that they’re trying to make amends for, and it’s all related to the series. I’m thinking that as these stories develop, the books are going to end up being longer and longer, just because the plot is becoming so detailed. I know that there will be a sequel to SAINTS, and that I’m going to have to write one big novel with all the characters. That will most likely come after the sequel. This is turning out to be a bigger project than I anticipated.    

Short Story: [Un-named romance]
Started working on the short story for the romance anthology this week. I had about 1,500 words already, but as I revised it to fit the new plot, lost about 700. The maximum allowed is 10k, I might just come close to that. I had some great story scenes running through my head, but couldn’t write them down as the damn battery in my laptop is toast and Sithboy was using the only power cord. Yeah, we’ve lost one already. I’m buying one for the holidays.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Friday Writing Update

  1. I just finished Watchtower, and I think it’s going to be a wild ride. Very good story, with lots of room for continuing “episodes.” The characters are great – I like that they’re all so different, and they all understand that each of them provides a talent to the cause. You’ve got the framework fleshed out nicely and it will be fun to see where you take it.

  2. Thanks hon. I’m thinking it will be a very interesting ride, typos aside. 😛 I plan on delving into the circumstances that brought the characters together, and I have them linked, so they were meant to come together.

    Plus, it’s tied into THE SAINTS OF BELVEDERE ROAD. You remember that story. 😀

Leave a Reply

