How Not To Knit a Victorian Lace Neck Warmer

I started a new knitting project on the weekend. It was supposed to be a Victorian lace neck warmer…

http://akittenknits.blogspot.com/search/label/pattern?updated-max=2007-04-18T11%3A18%3A00-04%3A00&max-results=20

…but the yarn I chose was a bugger to work with. It’s a deep blue, and was on sale for .99c. Husband and I had to dig to the bottom of a three foot wire bin to retrieve it, and of course, there were only two balls of this colour in the lot.

With the lighter colours woven into the dark thread, I thought it would be a really pretty yarn to work with, but those other strands kept getting caught on each other and knotting up so I couldn’t get the needle into position to knit the lace pattern. I was not happy. I used the ‘c’ word a few times (Sithboy wasn’t around). Yeah, I swear when I knit, and here it’s supposed to be a relaxing hobby.

I had to put this project on hold, but I do plan on knitting it up. It looks so cool. One thing about all of this, I got the itch to knit again so I’m doing a simple scarf with the blue yarn, and I told my Aunt on the weekend that I would knit a snowflake sweater for her grandson. I still have the pattern around here somewhere…

Oh yeah, and have you seen this pattern for Victorian fingerless gloves?

http://voknits.com/belle-ruffle-gloves/

So. Awesome.          

~Happy Knitting!~

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to How Not To Knit a Victorian Lace Neck Warmer

  1. MPax says:

    Sounds like a great project. My cats will find a use for your hard to use yarn. 🙂

  2. CDNWMN says:

    The gloves are divine!!! Me loves! I have no knitting talent, my nan tried to teach me once but i’m a lefty. it was a happy mess. 🙂

    • I can knit, but I can’t crochet, which is odd as so many people tell me it’s easier to crochet than knit. 0_o

      You know, I’ve been thinking about making video’s showing the simple basics of knitting. Sometimes it’s easier for people to pick it up if it’s shown to you.

Leave a Reply

