Role Models

WordPress asked the question; Who do you consider to be your role model?

It’s always been easy to look at celebrities and say ‘So-in-so is my role model because [give reason here]. Sure, the media props them up on these pedestals and when one falls they’re quick to say ‘And he was a role model too’, but I’ve never been one to see them that way. To me, a role model is someone who active interest in you and your life, and not some glamorized Hollywood or sports persona that wouldn’t know who you are from a Jack-in-the-box.

With that in mind, I have four.

My Mother: She was my first role model. She went through hell and back when I was a child and still came out on top, with matching accessories I might add. She taught me at a young age to stand up for myself and my ideas, even if it meant going against her, and trust me, we’ve locked horns a few times over that one. She was brave enough to get out of an abusive relationship with a toddler in an age when the norm was for women to ‘put up and shut up, and pound into my head my rights as a woman, a person, a tenant and anything else. This, above all, helped me to escape a lifestyle others condemned me to have. She has taught me how to be strong.

My Aunt: When I hear the word brave, I think of my aunt. She’s survived breast cancer TWICE, and still has the fighting attitude it took to beat it. She faced her mortality and came out the other end, a little worn, but with a good sense of who she is. She has taught me how to be fearless.

My Husband: I’ve never met anyone who was more at ease with himself than my Husband. He is my grounding force for when I get riled up and go sonic. He could care less if you don’t like him and doesn’t judge people by any standard than how they treat him. He goes out of his way to be nice to his enemies, because, as he is a Catholic, that’s what Jesus would want him to do. He has taught me how to be compassionate with others.

My Son: I never thought a child could be a role model, but since he was born, Sithboy has shown me a world I’d forgotten. The fun world, the wonderful world of a child, and how getting silly every now and then, and letting my own inner child out has made my life so much better. He has taught me how to laugh again.

These are, and always will be, my role models.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Role Models

  1. Rats! The blog ate my comment. And I can’t remember what I said originally.

    Ah well. This was an excellent question. My role model is my long dead grandmother. She was a true pioneer in every sense of the word and she had a noble heart.

  2. I think we need to look more at our family for role models, than celebrities.

Leave a Reply

