A Snowflake Sweater that Wasn’t

I like to knit. It’s relaxing, creative, and people seem to like getting a home-made gift rather than a store-bought one. I think they mean more to people. It shows that you really think their special because of all the time and effort it took to make the gift, but sometimes, things don’t go the way you want.

I was knitting a sweater for my aunt’s grandson. I had the sweater done a good week and a half before Christmas. All that was left was to sew up the seams and do the collar, but Fate had a different idea. The seams were fine, no problem there even though they were raglan seams, but as I was picking up the stitches to knit the collar, something went amiss. Instead of having each piece line up (like those cut-out paper people), it got all hooked together. Not what I wanted. Oh sure, I could have pulled out the stitches and did it over, but some of the stitches were from stitch holders, and I would have lost more than I wanted.

Heh, ask me how many new swear words I created…

I was not happy as this all came down on Friday—two days before Christmas.  There was no way I could get it done in time. I conceded defeat, and went out and bought him a set of CARS p.j’s. Not what I wanted to give him, but he liked them none-the-less. As a matter of fact, I think he liked the p.j.’s better. Ah well. There’s always his birthday.     

~Happy Knitting!~

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to A Snowflake Sweater that Wasn’t

  1. I think my reply got lost. That’s okay, it wasn’t earthshattering. Anyway, good luck with the sweater. I’m always in awe of people who can sew or knit. I’ll stick to cooking.

Leave a Reply

