New Cover Art for the New Year!

Ah, the start of a new month, a new year and new cover art! Welcome the new cover for the second book in my paranormal series, UNDER THE COVER OF WICCA.

 Here is an excerpt. For a special treat, those of you who receive my newsletter will be getting a second excerpt. A hint of things to come? In the meantime, enjoy and Happy New Year!

~~~~

Martin opened the door and walked in. The office was quiet and from the looks of a thin layer of dust on Barb’s desk, no one had been there in some time. The room felt cool and the silence sent a shiver up his spine. He walked back out into the hall and headed for Daniel’s lab. Maybe everyone was gathered in there? He turned the knob on the second wooden door and poked his head inside.

“Hello, anybody home?”

“Good morning, Mr. Cunningham.”

Martin jumped as Jezryall’s sultry voice came from behind him. “Shit! I didn’t see you in the hall!”

“My apologies,” A playful smile lit up her face. “Barbara informs me frequently that I am too quiet in my approach.” She tilted her head to one side. “I suppose that is something I should work on.”

She was standing way too close to him again and the weight of her gaze made him feel self-conscious. Those eyes were too inviting, and he forced himself to look away.

“Maybe you could wear a bell or something,” he murmured, uncomfortable with her closeness. “You know, something small so we know when you’re coming.”

Jezryall nodded. “I will take that under advisement. Now, if you will follow me.”

He watched her walk away. Her long silk dress swayed rhythmically with each graceful step. They walked past the desk and continued down the hall. The dim light from the drippy candles did little to light the corridor. Martin wondered if maybe, like everything else, there was a reason for this too.

 “I am impressed you arrived so quickly,” she said, as Martin shuffled behind.

“Well considering I haven’t spoken to anyone since the ride back here from the Embassy, I figured I’d better jump down here right away.”

They came to a second corridor and Jezryall turned left and continued. Sunlight from a large window at the end of the hall, brightened up the corridor.

“Yes, I am sorry about that, but I thought it would be better if you had some time to yourself. To let you digest the events of that day.”

Martin smiled. “Thanks. I have to admit, I did need some time to wrap my brain around that whole zombie-killer worm thing.”

“That is only natural.”

Martin eyed several doors along the corridor. A strange noise caught his attention from the door closest to him.

“What’s behind these doors?” he asked.

Jezryall paused for a moment. “Private places.”

Well, there went his notion that he’d start getting a straight answer. A stray thought popped into his mind and he looked wearily at one of the doors.

“Is that creature behind one of them?”

Jezryall stopped and faced him. “Creature?”

“Yeah, that Brosnie.” He reached up and placed his hand on the door. There was something about the way the wood looked. The pattern in the grain seemed familiar…

Jezryall stepped next to the doorframe, glancing first at the door, then at him. “No, we have him someplace safe below the building.” She reached out and lifted his hand off the door. “Daniel is thinking of keeping it as a pet.”

Martin gave his head a quick shake. “You’re kidding.”

“No. He’s become quite fond of it, actually. Seems to think he and the Brosnie have something in common.”

Jezryall turned and continued on down another corridor.

“You know, I don’t know him that well, but somehow, that doesn’t surprise me.”

Martin ran to catch up. He found her waiting by a stone staircase.

                “Wow,” he chuckled. “This place certainly does have its twists and turns.”

Jezryall smiled. “There is much more to Terin Global than what you see on the outside.”

She turned and walked up the stairs.

“Yeah,” Martin whispered. “I’m beginning to see that.”

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

6 Responses to New Cover Art for the New Year!

  1. Very pretty cover. Great excerpt. I’m looking forward to reading the whole thing. I hope 2012 brings you a string of successes!

  2. Thanks! The girl I get to do my covers has a talent for this. It’s like she can read my mind!

  3. You’re really starting to get a knack for this. Are you designing the covers yourself? Well done!

  4. CDNWMN says:

    Ohhhh it’s so pretty!! I just love them all, a wonderful ‘art’ collection as well as words. 🙂

Leave a Reply

