Question of the Week: Regrets, I’ve had a few.

WordPress asked the question; If you could go back in time and relive one day of your life, which would you choose?

I thought long and hard about this one, and I wasn’t sure what day I would pick. There are some great days in my past; fun days that I would love to re-live, not to mention a few days I’d like to do over. In the end, I chose a weekend. I know, the question says one day, but this was a special weekend. It was the last weekend I spent with my grandmother before she got really sick with Alzheimers.

I was fifteen, and didn’t need a babysitter. Not with an older step-sister home too, but my mother didn’t want either of us to be left alone (obvious reasons) so she asked my grandmother to stay with us. My grandmother would be up at the crack of dawn making breakfast, even though we didn’t get up for hours later. She made a cake that weekend, but the frosting was more like fudge. We ate it anyway. She wanted to go for a walk but didn’t know the neighbourhood so we told her to keep turning left at the corners and she’d end up back at the house. It was great and I took a picture of her before my mother took her back to the senior’s home. My step-sister and I laughed about he making sausages at 5am and the whole cake thing, but that was my grandmother. She did stuff like that.

A couple weeks later we got a phone call that she’d overdosed on time-released aspirin and was in the hospital. It was the beginning of the end. She wasn’t quite right after that. She went from being an independent senior to someone who needed constant supervision in a short period of time. She died when I was 19. A few days before the New Year.

I miss her. Maybe that’s why I took to Husbands grandmother so much. I believe that her spirit comes and visits me, but there are times when I’d just like to sit and talk to her. You know, adult to adult. I wish I’d done that while she was still with us.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

