Link Addiction

*stands up, clears throat*

Hi, my name is Darke Conteur, and I’m a link hoarder.

At first, I didn’t think it was a problem. I’d save a couple links a week, no harm right, maybe a few more on the weekend because you know, I’d have a hard week and I just NEEDED that information. Then, I started hanging out with these people online and next thing I know, I was added more and more links to my Favourites.

I kept it hidden from my family as much as I could, but the hours I spent hiding out online gave my addiction away. My son was embarrassed that his mother had so many links in her Favourite folder, my husband just didn’t understand. I told them there was nothing to worry about. I had control over it, not the other way around.

Lately, I’m beginning to wonder if that’s true.

I find myself collecting links for things I don’t even like. My husband will come home from work and mention something interesting he heard through the day and I have to find out more, or my son will be watching some new show and I have to save the webpage. Hey, I’m doing it for them! I’m trying to be a more informed person! They might need that information one day. You never know!

They say collecting like this is a taught trait. My mother has a collection bigger than mine, and if the internet was around when my grandmother was alive, I’m pretty sure her collection would be bigger than my mothers.

I don’t need counselling, just more folders…

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Link Addiction

  1. Love this, sad, but it’s so true. I’ve got so many links I have bookmark folders. LOL

  2. Botanist says:

    I suffer from this at work. In my defense, I’ll say that our company intranet is so vast and convoluted that once you find a useful nugget you squirrel it away for future reference, because you haven’t a hope of ever finding it again otherwise 🙂

    • Lol, in that case, it’s allowed. I think that’s what I’m afraid of. That if I find someething, I’d better save it or I won’t find it again.

      Thanks for posting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

