They Survived!

First, I want to thank everyone who sent me ideas on how to get rid of the ash from the woodstove. I’ve dumped more in the veggie garden and put some on my climbing roses. I still have a whole burn barrel full of it. I wonder what flowering plants and bushes like it.

Second, and very important—my two tropical plants survived the winter! Both my Christmas cactus and my Stag fern survived. This is a very exciting thing! For the last few years my green thumb has been black and just my looking at a houseplant would cause it to wilt and die. Husband has never had a black thumb. I’ve seen him bring back a plant that fell off a balcony and ¾ dead. Mind you, that was a Spider plant and it’s near impossible to kill off one of those.

The weather is staying warm here, and I’m itching to get out and do some gardening. We’re not going to have as many green peppers this year. Just one plant. The four we had last year produced so much that we couldn’t keep up, and everyone around here has gardens so we can’t give the stuff away. I was thinking about a road side stand with fresh veggies for the campers. We have two campgrounds nearby with piles of tourists. Another reason I don’t like to take walks. Some of these people are real city-slickers and seeing cows or sheep for the first time is a driving distraction. If you think I’m joking, then you haven’t lived out in the country.

Whoops, sorry, kinda got off topic there…
Anyway, like I said, with all the warm weather I’m just itching to get out. I wonder what kind of summer we’ll have?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to They Survived!

  1. Re: Some of these people are real city-slickers and seeing cows or sheep for the first time is a driving distraction.

    I know what you mean. I was driving my niece to my home (from the airport) and she screamed, nearly giving me a heartache when she saw goats in the field. I need to feed her Xanax the next time she visits me. 🙂

    • One year, our neighbour got some llamas to guard the sheep. You want to talk about a strange sight walking through the feild. Tourists weren’t the only ones doing a double take. 😀

Leave a Reply

