A Personal Observation: A little kindness goes a long way.

We were never properly introduced. I only knew him as Charlie, but his one act of kindness did more to lift by spirits one winter, than I thought possible. During a time when the devastating results of excess greed touched us all, he renewed my faith in the human spirit and showed me that there are those who do not live by the all mighty dollar; that the small things really do count. that did he do? He ploughed out my snow-filled driveway.

There’s nothing I dread more than shovelling snow. Mother Nature had so thoughtfully smothered us with a years’ worth of white over the course of a few days, and like so many, my body rebels at the sudden and demanding workout of shovelling. My lower back becomes sore, my knees ache, and if there’s any sort of wind, you can bet I’ll throw snow into it. My neighbour from across the street took pity on me and came over with her shovel to help, but even with the extra pair of hands, I knew removing the half of foot of snow from our 50-foot driveway would occupy most of the morning. It was with great relief when a four-wheeler carrying Charlie slowed down next to us on the road, and he asked if he could plow out my driveway.

My cheeks were hurting from the grin I wore each time his machine roared past us. He cleared the snow right down to the gravel, and all I could think about was how he just made my day. He accomplished in a few minutes what would have taken my neighbour and I hours. Not asking for a payment of any kind. 

The rest of the weekend went a whole lot better because of one person’s act of kindness. I was in such a good mood that I went shopping. It wasn’t a spree, but it was money I don’t think I would have spent otherwise, being too tired after a morning of shovelling.

 

Charlie, if we ever run into each other again, I’m buying you a coffee. It’s the least I can do.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

5 Responses to A Personal Observation: A little kindness goes a long way.

  1. BigBear85 says:

    hehe, I wish we had gotten some serious snow this year but alas we did not. People will surprise you, I myself have trouble seeing the glimmers of humanity that should be the norm, not the exception. yet they are out there and will happen when you least expect them to

Leave a Reply

