The Decline of the English Language?

WordPress asked the question: What slang words and phrases are overused?

This got me thinking. I was a teenager during the 80’s, and some of the things we used to say, still make me shake my head. I don’t know if it’s because I’m older now and have a teenager of my own, but when I think back to my high school day and how I used to talk with my friends, I’m amazed I’m a coherent writer.

‘Like totally’, ‘Oh mu gawd!’, ‘Gag me with a spoon!’, ‘Fer sure’,

What the hell were we saying? Two movies in particular stand out in this linguistic massacre for me; Valley Girl and the Bill and Ted movies. Now, I’m not saying these movies are bad, far from it. I loved the Bill and Ted movies, but geez, I can’t believe I used to talk like that! Seriously! I did!

To be honest, every generation has their slang. Heck, look at the 60’s for crying out loud, and the roaring 20’s had some pretty good slang as well. The next time you hear someone complain about the stupid words teenagers are using, point them in the direction of the latest Indiana Jones movie. Shia Labouf’s dialogue is ripe with slang from that era.

I think slang is meant to set apart the generations. It’s something the youth of that era can claim as their own. Teens are always trying to find a something that sets them apart from their parent; ideals and language is part of it. Not to mention it irritates the hell out of the adults, which is exactly what they’re looking for.

Β So next time your teen starts spouting slang, just smile. They’re asserting their independent identities, and wonder what their children will be saying.

So, until next time, be excellent to each other. πŸ˜›

(NOTE: Teaser poster,but I have heard they’re thinking about it!)

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to The Decline of the English Language?

  1. Terri Bruce says:

    Most excellent, dude!!! πŸ™‚ I’ve got characters from all throughout history in my current work in progress and researching slang for different eras has been one of the funnest part of my historical research, though it’s interesting how little documentation there is of slang terms – it appears to be ephemera. Georgette Heyer is one of my favorite novelists and her books are rife with “cant talk” and lingo of the times, and I have no idea where she found as much about the slang of the 1800’s as she did!

Leave a Reply

