Friday Writing Update

Sorry to report not a lot of writing went on this week. I was in more of a marketing mode; the other half of this business. I’ve had my fun writing, this week was about taking care of business.

I did do two interviews, two guest posts and a whole lot of ‘Will you review my book’, stuff. I guess that could count as writing. I plan on doing a blog post of what I’ve learned about requesting book reviews from book bloggers. I feel all indie and self-published authors should be looking into this. I have a guest post on the subject already up at Nyx Book Reviews.

http://nyxbookreviews.blogspot.com/2012/02/guest-post-darke-conteur-on-book.html

Go check it out if you haven’t.

 

Of Covens and Packs

I discovered something very interesting this week. This is going to sounds very unprofessional, but until this week, I really didn’t have a good reason why someone would try to kill Jezryall. I knew what the outcome would be; what was supposed to happen, but I couldn’t nail down the method of how it would go down or why.  Then the idea struck me, and it’s all in her head. With this new characteristic, I can get more details into the story.

As it stands, the rough copy of this book is just under 14,500, and judging by the outline, I may be ¾ of the way done. It would be nice if I could get to 20k, but I have a feeling this could be another 30k book. Mind you, I’m introducing some new characters and there’s a whole plot thingie I have to look over. Who knows…

Call of the Siren

The outline for this book is finished. 3k and six chapters long. There’s a plot revelation that I have to spread out over the third and fourth book, and it’s been a bit of a bugger trying to make it balance out. I guess that’s part of the fun of writing a series. Next week I’ll start on the outline for book five. I still don’t have a decent title for it. Right now I’m calling it Tiding of Good Friends.

So, how was your week? Did you get a lot of writing done?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

Leave a Reply

