My Quest to be Healthy

Or at least, healthier.

One good thing about the warm weather starting early, it puts me in the mood to eat better. Cold weather makes me crave comfort food; all that process carbs and sugar. I can’t eat a salad during winter. I can’t even prepare one. Just the idea of putting one together; running veggies and stuff under cold water, eating food right out of the fridge, makes me cold. Gah, I’m getting cold just thinking about it now.

Maybe it’s the thought of tee-shirts and shorts and bathing suits that make me start eating healthier around this time of year. I’ve started doing my work-out again (I know, again), but I have to stick with it. I can do the whole hour no problem, so I bumped up the intensity with gloved hand weights. They’re so cool! Two pound weights sewn into these fingerless gloves. Found them in a box of exercise DVD’s my mom gave me. Kept the gloves, threw out the DVD’s.

I’ll use them until April, and then I’ll take them off and use three pound hand weights. I’ve also been doing the low impact version of the DVD but plan to integrate the high impact segment. Well, that’s the plan. We’ll see how it goes.

I also need to eat better. Husband brought home fruit and stuff for smoothies. I like them and the fibre from the fruit does keep me going through the afternoon. I have green tea with ginseng too. I find that helps to keep me awake and not want to nap. Plus, I get more writing done! I haven’t eaten too many processed carbs this week (my week starts on Monday). The slice of pizza Monday at lunch, a hamburger Tuesday night, and two slices of bread yesterday, but I’ve been keeping away from Sithboy’s treats. And he’s got a lot of them.

I’ve lost weight before so I know what to do to succeed, it’s just a matter of me sticking with it and not giving in to my excuses.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to My Quest to be Healthy

    • Thanks, I’m going to need it. Especially to keep my motivation up. Maybe I should buy a bikini and put it some place where I have to look at it every day. 😛

Leave a Reply

