Writing Books; Inspiration or Brain suck?

Good Monday morning. Had a busy weekend so I’m reposting a blog entry from a few years back. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~

Now, before you all go off on me, hear me out.

There are a lot of good books out there on the craft of writing, some by famous authors. I know these authors mean well, but more and more I’m coming across people who take the content of these books as law, simply because the author is famous.

When Stephen King wrote ’On Writing’ I don’t think he intended it to be a step-by-step guide on how to write exactly like Stephen King (or maybe he did, I don‘t know), but how many writers believe that if they follow his book to the letter, they’ll become as famous as him? No disrespect to Mr. King, but I don’t have four hours a day to strictly devote to writing, and another four to reading. That doesn‘t mean my writing ability is worse off because of it. The house doesn’t clean itself, and neither does the laundry. Goddess knows I wish it did. While we’re at it, if I hear one more “You need to start your novel with some action!” ONE more time, I swear, I’m going to go all BLACK OPPS on someone (and I’m really good with a sniper rifle, BTW).

Look, what it boils down to is this; these books shouldn’t been seen as the ‘be all’ and ‘end all’ laws of writing. I think they should be used simply as guidelines, inspirations to writers who don‘t know where to start. I have a few books on writing, but they’re written by agents/editors and show what NOT to do. I think this is more important that what you SHOULD do.

People, be true to your STORY. More importantly, be true to yourself. You don’t need to be the next Stephen King, J.K Rowling, or Robert Sawyer. You need to be you.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Writing Books; Inspiration or Brain suck?

  1. khaulamazhar says:

    Good advice, it is easier to just write like’you’ rather than trying to follow ‘rules’ to the point and ending up with a piece of work that seems like a copy of something else or seems like a piece of junk.

Leave a Reply

