It’s that time of year again, folks! [pictures]

I’ve been away from blogging for a while, but Icouldn’t WAIT to show you what my MIL got me;

Castor Bean seeds! She mentioned them a few years back, about how big they got and I was intrigued. Husband’s grandmother use to plant them every year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They look like little grub beetles. I was surprised to see how big they were

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can feel the pain in my back already. MIL is going to dig up the flower garden that’s in their backyard and I’m taking plants home with me. She always said once her mother died she was going to sod the whole thing down. Neither her nor my FIL are healthy enough to keep it up. There’s also a big Spruce tree coming down too. Husband wasn’t impressed with that because they planted that when he was a little boy.

Speaking of trees coming down, we’re taking down two on our property. One is by our shed. The other is the apple tree next to it. I like apples, but you have to prune the tree every spring and to be honest, I can’t be bothered. We have another apple tree on the property, but it’s staying up because I have my clothes line nailed to it. We’re hoping that with the first tree gone, the second won’t produce apples. The second tree is weird anyway. One year only half of it bloomed, and a few years after that it didn’t bloom at all.

The plants from MIL’s are going here.

Husband dug up a small patch at the front of the house and we got those border stones on sale. I’ll tackle the other side next year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve got a pile of tulips coming up too. They were left over from the previous owner. She tried to dig them all up, but missed a few.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this is my peony. I’m doing an experiment this year. I’ve encased it in a tomato plant cage because the stalks get very heavy with the bloom on the end. I can thread the stalks through the wires so it will look bushy. At least that’s what I’m hoping for.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do you garden? Any you’re experimenting with this season?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

6 Responses to It’s that time of year again, folks! [pictures]

  1. We used to have plenty of plants in our balcony (which was huge) and an amazing garden with a rubber tree, pagoda plants, white plumeria tree, coconut tree and other little bushes and plants. But all back home in Pakistan, now we live in a condo with no balcony 😦

    • That sucks, especially since you had so much room before, and such exotic plants. I had a Yucca once and a friend of mine who lives out in B.C. asked what I thought of the flowers on it. I didn’t know it could flower. 😦

      Sometimes it sucks to live in Canada.

  2. sffwriter says:

    This is my favortie time of year. 🙂

    Ref: castor beans
    Careful with raw castor beans. They are toxic to man and beast.

  3. I always get the urge to plant in spring. I try to resist, because I know I won’t take care of things properly, and everything will die. But then I get mad because all the berries in the store are picked unripe and they NEVER ripen correctly after that. I always grouse that I’ll just grow my own. I really wish I had a talent for it.

    • Our strawberries didn’t make it this year. Which sucks as Husband went out and bough some wire mesh to make a barrier around the bushes. I’ve become a black thumb with house plants. I had so many and they all died off. 😦

Leave a Reply

