Characters and Sex

One thing that drives any story forward is character motivation. Your Hero must want to do what he’s supposed to, or nothing gets done and the story might as well end right there. More importantly, the reader must believe your character wants to do his task, otherwise the entire thing comes off as forced and trust me, the reader will pick up on that.

We all know what motivators characters; good vs. evil, discovery, money (or is that just for writers) but what about sex? What if it’s the sole motivation? In most fantasy I’ve read (apart from erotica) sex is used to bring two characters closer, or the final act after pages of hot and heavy flirting and teasing. I don’t think I’ve read a story where sex was used as a means of motivation; either the character did what was necessary so he could have sex, or as a means of manipulation. Again, not outside of erotica

I’ve been toying with this idea for my side WIP, and wondering if this would be something to explore. The story itself is NOT a romance, so get that idea right out of your head (Darke can’t write romance, remember 😛 ), but I can write decent erotica. It would also bring in some conflict between the protag and the other characters in the story, as my MC would be the one being manipulated.

A part of me has wanted to write something hot and steamy for a while now; actually, ever since DATE NIGHT was published, to be exact. Could add a whole new dimension to my story. One problem, I’m afraid that if I write a story like this, then people will expect this kind of writing from me in the future, and right now, I don’t have too many stories where graphic sex scenes would fit.

I’m curious as to what you think about this?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Characters and Sex

  1. I think you should write what you want, and don’t worry about what people will expect. It would be important for you to clearly state on the cover or in the blurb, that this story contains erotica or adult-only material.

    The idea of using sex as motivation is a great one. People do that all the time, so it’s not like your character would be strange or anything.

    • Yeah, I know, and I have written stuff like that before, it’s just this would be more ‘out there’ (audience-wise) and those reservations about should I or shouldn’t I, popped up.

      Wise advise, as always. 🙂

  2. Cassie says:

    I understand your misgivings but I hope you take the plunge. It is rare to read anything about sex that feels honest. I agree with your observations about how sex is often used in literature. In reality (and in fantasy) sex is often a motivation in itself.

Leave a Reply

