Interview with Jen Wylie

One of the best things about being a writer is connecting with other writers. To know you’re not the only one crazy enough to follow this path, makes the hard days easier to deal with. Because I live out in ‘cow & pig country’, I rarely get to mingle with my writing friends in real life, but hopefully, that will change with my guest today.

I met Jen Wylie online and soon learned that we live thirty minutes from each other, and while we haven’t met in real life yet, there are plans in the works for a future meet-up. Oh, and hands off guys, she’s taken.

~~~~~~

1. Let’s get to know you a bit. Where are you from, and what genre do you write?
I live in rural Ontario, Canada. So rural, I’m not even in a village. I do however, quite dislike snow and cold–something got messed up somewhere with that!

I write fantasy, everything from paranormal to romance to urban fantasy. I also write for all ages, from children’s to adults.

2. With all the risks and uncertainty around publishing, what was it that drew you to a career in writing?
My daddy told me to. 🙂  I’ve been writing since I was in public school, though I slowed down when I had my kids, I eventually started up again when they were older. My parents pushed me to give it go with getting my book published, and so I did. It took me quite a while to get going, I did the ‘search for an agent’ thing for over a year. After a few hundred rejection letters I eventually found a small publisher and since then I’ve been off and running. I currently have published 1 novel, 1 anthology and 10 shorter works  (6 of these are a YA novella series). 4 of the shorts and the anthology have come out this year, and I’ve a number of other projects on the go. I’ll hopefully have at least two novels out this year, another 1-2 anthologies and bunch more shorts!

3. That’s a lot of writing done! Do you have a secret to getting so much work done?
Of course. Chocolate. Rum and Coke (or Pepsi, I’m easy as long as it’s not that zero crap), skittles, chocolate, fun dip, rum, Lots and lots of lists, and very little sleep.

4. Now that you have a few books published, what’s your take on the whole process? What was the hardest part for you? What was the easiest?
The easy part is writing. For me, marketing/promoting comes rather naturally too. The hardest parts are the edits for 2 reasons. First is you see all those errors and get those moments of doubts. The very worst though, is going over the same story again, and again and again and again and then yet again… until finally it is done! And then you get to go over the proof, at least once. Now this process I don’t mind so much for the shorts, but for the novels… ya.. not my favorite part. I mean… I could be writing!

5. Some writers print out their story to do edits. Do you have a special way or a process for editing?
Not really. I usually don’t print anything out unless I want my mother to do a read over for me. When I get edits sent back from my publisher I work from within the MS and slog my way through. There is normally a lot of coffee and chocolate involved.

6. Have you ever thought about giving up? If you did, what changed your mind?
Occasionally I’ve wanted to give up on a project…though never writing in general. I love writing too much. It’s often the everything that comes after which can be stressful, or sometimes a story just doesn’t want to finish itself. Sometimes I just need to take a break from a project for a little while before jumping back in. If that doesn’t work I’ve a wonderful support group in my kids, parents and boyfriend who keep my butt in gear and encourage me to get things done. I don’t know what I’d do without them.

7. Most writers have manuscripts that will never see the light of day. Do you have a few of those or will they eventually come out?
I have a few I hope to get out eventually, though they are very rough and with my current projects they probably won’t come out for years LOL Sadly (or maybe it’s a good thing…) all my first books I ever wrote disappeared in horrible computer crashes… back in the day of floppy discs.

8. What books (if any) have influenced you over the years?
All of them of course 🙂 Yes, even all the way back to Leo the Lop, on to the entire Black Stallion series, Nancy Drew and whatever else I could get my hands on until Mom FINALLY let me start reading ‘the good stuff’. Which of course, she started with Anne McCaffrey’s Pern books. Books have given me a wild and vivid imagination, which only continues to be fed and grow the more I read.

9. What other things influence your writing? And have you ever written them into a story?
I rarely write about real life events, however my own personality appears quite often in a number of my characters. The only other main influence is music, be it the general mood of a song, or sometimes even a few words will set off a whole story in my head.

10. Let’s talk a little about your latest project. What was the inspiration behind this story?
My latest ‘biggish’ project has actually been an anthology, with half of the stories by me and the other half by my partner in crime, and everything else, Sean Hayden. It’s called Flashy Fiction and Other Insane Tales. The title pretty much says it all, it contains a number of short works, from flash fiction up to short stories, that cover a broad range of topics from zombies to girls with the power to make people forget. It was a really fun work to do, especially as the pieces are really different. It was fun to show various writing styles and emotions, from funny to sad to scary.

For fun questions:

1. If you could be any breed of dog, what would it be?
Well, I’d rather not be a dog, though I suppose that’s better than a cat. I guess an Australian Shepherd. They’re smart, fast and cute. 🙂

2. Is there one food/beverage that you can’t live without?
Chocolate. (Really, you had to ask???) [NOTE: Yeah, I should have known. – Darke]

3. Bungee jumping: exhilarating hobby or death wish?
Death wish. Crazy peoples!

4. What is your favourite movie?
The Princess Bride

5. Question from Sithboy; If you were a Jedi, what colour would your lightsabre be; green, blue, yellow, red, or purple?
All of the above. I’m rainbow girl!!!!!! [NOTE: Again, I should have known. – Darke]

~~~~~

Flashy Fiction and Other Insane Tales
By Jen Wylie and Sean Hayden
Anthology
Published March 2012 by Untold Press

An anthology of the strange, bizarre, and just plain weird.

Zombies, vampires, ghosts, and …crickets? Try a taste of writing from two very different fantasy authors. Flash stories are super short and perfect for when you ‘just have a minute’. This anthology contains 15 stories from authors Sean Hayden and Jen Wylie. Run the rampart of emotions in this exciting mix of tales. From humor to twisted, there is something for everyone.

Available at:
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Flashy-Fiction-Other-Insane-ebook/dp/B007Q33YB6

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007Q33YB6
Prime members borrow for free!

My website: www.jenniferwylie.ca

My blog: http://jlwylie.wordpress.com/

Twitter: @jen_wylie

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4499919.Jen_Wylie

Facebook fan page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Jennifer-Wylie/151266004895266

Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/Jen-Wylie/e/B004HQ9XD8/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

11 Responses to Interview with Jen Wylie

  1. jlwylie says:

    Thanks for having me here today! We do have to get together soon! 🙂 ~hugs and rainbows!~

  2. shaydenfl says:

    Hahahaha. Awesomely done, ladies 😉

  3. shaydenfl says:

    HAHAHAHAHA. Awesomely done, ladies.

  4. Great interview. I feel a little less now after learning of how many published works are out there with your name on it. Maybe I will catch up if I wrote day and night for the next five years. Chocolate is the secret ingredient for writerly inspiration? Hmmm. Mine is red wine, but unfortunately I never remember what I have written. My light saber color? Polka dot.
    Nice to catch up with you again Darke and Jen.
    Reggie Ridgway Author of In The Midnight Hour and soon to be published Moon Shadow
    http:// characterswellmet.blogspot.com
    Thanks again Jen for interviewing me so well on your blog. I tweet it from time to time 🙂

  5. Pingback: Authors, authors everywhere!! « Darke Conteur

Leave a Reply

