Come on flowers! BLOOM!

Husband put in the flower garden at the front of the house. So far it looks really good.

We went to MIL to get some of Husbands grandmothers flowers, only to discover that BIL g/f took just about every, single one. Left us with three of the scraggliest looking lupines. Ask me if I’m impressed. I got over it. This is typical. I should be used to this by now. Anyway, I’m getting off topic.

Lupines and Bachelor Buttons are in the back. My mother gave me the white and blue flowers, and I found a small Lily of the Valley poking out through the weeds. Got one other plant from MIL but I don’t know what kind it is. Husband said we could go out this weekend and get some more.

 

It’s now time to pay attention to my climbing roses. You’re supposed to plant them, then leave them alone for a few seasons to get the tall canes. I think they’re tall enough.

There are flower buds too. When we first got them, one was white and the other was red. A few years later we noticed they were both red. Didn’t see flowers after that but I dumped some woodstove ashes at the base and now they full of buds!

 

 

 

 

 

 

My mother also brought over some hostas. Only place I could put them was in front (behind?) the rose bushes. She gave me some ground cover too. Hopefully, they’ll be able to choke out the weeds.

They really took too. They get the morning sun and they’re shaded from the hot afternoon sun by the thick canes of the rose bush.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The flowers on our lilac bush aren’t that big this year. I think the weird winter caused smaller than normal flower buds

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our neighbours snowball bush is looking good this year. There were a few years where it looked like crap. I don’t know if he did anything to it, but the flowers are numerous this year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We extended the veggie garden this year, but it’s still unsure if we’re going to plant veggies. Our roto-tiller is acting up and the ground is too hard to do it by hand. Yeah, already told Husband that already.

 

 

 

 

 

Oh, and this bird has been driving me nuts. It pecks at our wood stove chimny, then flies off and starts pecking on our front door. You can barely see him, but he’s there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anyone doing a garden this year

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Come on flowers! BLOOM!

  1. Jean Oram says:

    Yep. I have a lot of perennials so I don’t have to worry about much more than clearing out the dead stuff and remembering to water. (Which is tricky for me it seems!)

  2. Well, you know I am. 🙂
    Your garden is looking great for this time of year.

    Ref: veggie garden
    If the ground is hard, it sounds like you need some serious compost and peat moss. You can order compost by the truck, but it won’t be the good stuff you can make yourself. The only good thing about it is that at least it’ll aerate your soil more and make it more fluffy. It takes time though. Every garden I ever started takes 3-5 years before the soil is soft and loamy. Just keep at it.

    • Oh it is so hard! We bought two bags of peat for it, and Husband wants to get more good earth and some sheep poop. Husband is thinking about renting an industrial roto-tiller for the ground.

      I read your post (last week, was it) about all the veggies you’ve already harvested. So jealous.

Leave a Reply

