A Personal Observation – Pet peeve #1: Lack of Phone Manners

I know what you all are thinking; what is this nutcase going on about now? Well just this; when people don’t say goodbye to you before they hang up the phone. Drives. Me. Nuts! Seriously. It stems from my a**hole, ex-stepfather. He NEVER said goodbye, but had the nerve one day to chastise me for the way I started conversations

STEP-FATHER: “Its ‘May I speak with so-in-so’, not ‘Is so-in-so there?’.

ME: *PUNCH* (note-I didn’t, but it was a fantasy of mine for years.)

I caught my mother doing it one time and immediately called her back and told her what she’d done wrong. I’ve even called Sithboy back when he was at a friend’s house and blasted him for doing it.

THEN, I got blasted on Twitter once because I said goodbye before I headed off. He sent a message saying he was un-following me because I cluttered up his stream with nonsense (or something stupid like that).

Really? Since when are manners nonsense? AND HE WAS BRITTISH!

 Okay, I’m better now…

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to A Personal Observation – Pet peeve #1: Lack of Phone Manners

  1. Joyce Alton says:

    Wow, what a rude person on Twitter, especially to tell someone they were going to stop following them. You’re better off without their follow, I say.

    Phone manners–yes!!! I’m so with you there. When I used to work in travel I was on the phone most of the day. Some travel agents and suppliers were polite and patient but there was this one independent agent who’d call, breezily ask for whatever she wanted, expect you to bend over backward for her, and then when the call was over she’d slam down the phone without a thank you or goodbye. I never liked doing research for her.

  2. The funny thing was, I didn’t even know he was following me! Yeah, I don’t care for people like that.

    Omg! She sounds horrible!

Leave a Reply

