Book Review; Bram Stoker’s Dracula

If you love vampires, you must have this book in your collection.

Written during the last years of the 19th century, it’s considered by many to be a gothic novel due to the ominous and dark prose.

 

The first thing that caught my eye is that the entire book it told not in one POV, but rather, in several and all through letters, journal entries and business correspondence. Having seen the movie, I can understand why the director would chose to take Mina POV through the movie.

 

Another thing that caught my eye was the prose. It was an awkward read. Flowery prose that often goes into great detail and descriptions. The dialogue left me shaking my head and wondering if Victorian England really spoke that way, and I had to constantly remind myself that this was the way they wrote novels back then. Anyone who has read a Jane Austin novel can understand.

 

Despite the awkwardness, I did enjoy it!

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

3 Responses to Book Review; Bram Stoker’s Dracula

  1. It is one of my favorite novels. I like the style and the choice to tell the story through several diaries was well done, imo.

  2. I read this a couple of years ago and loved it ( still do). Even though it is so old, it was still really scary to me.

Leave a Reply

