Flowers are here! So are the damn chipmunks!

I’ve been busy with revisions to book three, but I just wanted to drop a post and show you how the gardens are going.

First of all, I’d like to say that I really, really dislike chipmunks. We planted eight stalks of corn, and as you can see, the little buggers have chewed just about all the stalks. Husband isn’t happy either. We live in an area where there are corn stalks all over the place, why the hell did they go after ours?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*sigh* Anyway, all the other veggies are doing good, so I’m happy about that. Peas/beans are starting to pop up. I won’t know what they are until they’re a little more developed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bugger chipmunk got to my flower garden too. You can’t see it in this picture, but they ate one of my flowers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is my peonies. Next year I’m going to keep more stalks in the center.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here is my climbing rose bush. Pile of flower buds still coming out. I’m going to try and get a new author pic in front of it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How are your gardens coming along?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

6 Responses to Flowers are here! So are the damn chipmunks!

  1. I love the climbing rose bush, and it is so practical( and delicious) to have your own veggies.

  2. It all looks marvelous, in spite of the chipmunks. We have gophers, so I know what you’re going through.

    My grandson is coming to stay for the summer, and my plan for entertainment is to have him make some raised beds for me. We’ll see if I can actually grow anything in them. I plan on putting some kind of wire mesh at the bottom, to keep the gophers out. Hope it works.

  3. Your climbing rose is gorgeous. Did you plant it yourself or was it already established?

    Sorry about the chipmunks. Our biggest problems are birds, rabbits and deer. I walk the dogs regularly by the garden to keep their scent out there in the hopes it’ll deter the deer. So far, so good. Nothing stops birds though.

    • We planted them either the second or third year we were here. Been here eight years now. They flower the first and second season, but nothing after that. We forgot about them. Over the winter I put some ashes from the woodstove on them.

      Hmm…maybe I should let the cats walk around the veggie garden?

Leave a Reply

