Stepping Outside My Comfort Zone Failure

This is a continuation (of sorts) to my Friday Writing Update post. I’ve been working on a side WIP in a journal style for the last couple of weeks, inspired by the novel DRACULA. Unfortunately, it didn’t go as well as I would have hoped, and I am sad/proud to report that THE 25TH HOUR/COLDSGATE MANOR is back in third person, novel-style. It also has a new working title – The Possession of Mercy Moreau.

More than once I’ve read blog posts stating that writers need to ‘step out of their comfort zone’ and try something new. I agree, it’s the best way to stimulate those creative juices, but what if your experiment fails? Do you try again with a new project? Einstein’s definition of crazy is this writer’s favourite motto (Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results), but I am also struck by something else he said. ‘Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new’.

Pretty deep thoughts for a scientist.

We try new ideas to stretch our creative wings and see if we can improve on our skills, which in turn, improves us in an overall perspective to our work. To say that my skills as a writer will become stagnant if I don’t write in anything other than tight third is an exaggeration. I may have failed at first person storytelling, but it’s helped me to understand this character in a more personal and intimate setting, and that isn’t a failure in my eyes.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

6 Responses to Stepping Outside My Comfort Zone Failure

  1. I once tried writing erotica, and in my opinion, failed. I discovered that it was important that I truly LIKE the genre before attempting to write in it. Trying new things are good, but it still has to be fueled by passion.

  2. I say, jump in with both feet. There’s no telling what you learned by your experiment. Someday, you might come across the perfect story for journal-style, and because you’ve tried it once, you’ll have a good idea of what to do. Keep trying new things. Keeps you young.

  3. Rick Pieters says:

    It can be a great learning exercise to do just what you did with the journal style in lots of different styles. Trying a story using only dialog to convey story, character, tone, pace, the whole deal, but not even allowing dialog tags. Everything must be clear through what’s spoken. And then doing one just opposite of that, allowing no dialog at all, but making sure your writing isn’t “telling” the story, and that the spoken words are there, but not as dialog. It’s great to challenge ourselves, and we don’t ever stretch or grow if we stay in our comfort zones, do we?

Leave a Reply

