Veggie Garden Update [pictures]

Got some exciting news! So far, our veggie garden is still intact! We went out last weekend and bought some more veggies to put in where the corn used to be (the critters left us two), and so far, so good!

Other than needing a good weeding, things are looking good in the veggie garden. We planted some broccoli (right down in front), squash and watermelon with the corn and some lettuce as well.   I need to go out and build up the soil around the tomato plant. They dug all around the base of the plant.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love petunia’s, so when I found these black ones, I just HAD to have some. Too bad they’r only an annual.

 

 

 

 

 

 

And beans in a barrel. Well, beans and peas. Husbands experiment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How are your gardens coming along? Anything new you’re trying to grow this year?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Veggie Garden Update [pictures]

  1. I forget you’re so much further north than I am. I’m jealous that you can grow broccoli this time of year. My brussels sprouts are sitting in pots until the weather cools enough to plant them in the ground.

    And I didn’t realize you guys could grow watermelon and corn up there. Cool! Do you know what varieties you planted?

    Keep us updated on the barrel experiment. I’ve never tried growing peas in a barrel. If it works, I might try it myself this winter.

    • We saw brussel sprouts and I asked Husband if he wanted some but he said no. His loss. I’m not sure if the watermelon will last. Critters like plants like that, so I’m not hoping on any and yeah, the beans and peas in a barrel is cool. My mom said we could borrow some stakes from her to keep them up if we need them.

Leave a Reply

