A Personal Observation – Goodreads and Reviewing

I signed up on Goodreads a few years back, but didn’t actively start using it until last year. I have to admit, I like this site for finding books, but most of all, I like reading the reviews from other people. Because everyone has different tastes, it’s interesting to see what they liked and didn’t like about a book. I like the star rating system as well. The only thing I find a little discouraging is all the star reviews without a written one. Especially the numerous star ratings that come en masse. I don’t know why people do this. I’m not criticising, I just don’t understand.  Especially if someone gives a book a three star or lower. What about the book didn’t they like? The characters? The plot? The purple elephant in a pink tutu that kept popping up? What?

Written reviews also help out the author. Believe it or not, there are some of us who want to know what you didn’t like about our story, and we won’t have an internet meltdown (unless that’s why you posted the bad review, then you’re a troll and can f*** off.) I have only one book I didn’t do a review for, but I plan on changing that. Writers like the feedback, just as long as it’s not nasty on purpose.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to A Personal Observation – Goodreads and Reviewing

  1. I agree. i need to write reviews of what I read. That’s most important. I’m glad you brought it up.

  2. Goodreads is a double edged sword.

    I’ve had some very helpful, anonymous reviews on the site. I’ve also had some crazy ones. I’ve had a couple from people who obviously didn’t read the book. One reviewer complained my characters didn’t use a condom, and then went off on a tangent about condom use in erotic fiction. Well, no, they didn’t use a condom, but that’s probably because they didn’t have intercourse.

    Most of the two and one star reviews I’ve had complain the free, short story was too short. I’ve decided to interpret them as compliments.

    I’ve even seen great and bad reviews for books that haven’t been published yet, and the reviewers were not privy to advanced copies. So, while you can find new books to read and some wonderful reviews, you can also find a whole lotta crazy. As always, take what you can use, and leave the rest.

    • I always wonder about the negative ones, especially if they, like you said, obviously didn’t read the book. What was the point in doing something like that? I heard rumours about friends of writers purposly giving other writers bad reviews so their friends books would be ranked higher, but I can’t see adults being THAT immature or childish.

Leave a Reply

