Full Moon Rite [New Revision]

The energy of the moon is at its strongest during the full moon. This is always a good time to cleanse yourself of negativity. I lost my other Full Moon ritual so I put together this new one!

First, if you want, take a cleansing bath. In honour of the ritual, use jasmine or mint to represent the moon, chamomile or lily for water, and rose or vanilla to represent the feminine element. Relax and enjoy the bath. Burn bees wax candles as they help relax the nervous system.

Set up your altar a head of time. This allows you to go from the cleansing bath right into ritual. Keeps your state of mind in the moment. If you’re doing your rite inside, make sure the area is cleansed as well. Do a smudging prior to setting up. Some people like to wipe down their tools as well. If you’re doing it outside, there’s no need to cleans you space. Not in my opinion anyway.

This is how I set up my space; green candle facing North and a bowl of earth. Yellow candle facing East and a stick of incense. Two red candles facing South. Blue candle facing West and a bowl of water.

Have a white candle to represent the moon.

I light each candle and say “I call upon the Guardians of the [North, East, South, West], elemental ruler of [earth, air, fire, water]. I ask that you be present at my ritual tonight.

Many Pagans believe each full moon has a special meaning. I find these very elaborate but if you’re interested here are a couple links to help you.

http://www.willowgrovemagick.com/esbats-and-full-moon-names.aspx

http://www.medicineforyourspirit.com/moonmagic

After I’ve lit the candles and called the elements, I take a few moments to sit and just look at the moon. I listen to the world around me, to the creatures of the night. Sometimes they make themselves known. I once saw a shooting star. The idea is to quiet your mind so you can let go of whatever it is.

As it is stated in the above link; the full moon is a time to release what no longer serves you, or what you no longer need in your life or an aspect of yourself that you have outgrown. You can do this by writing down what it is you would like to rid yourself of; a bad habit, negative thoughts and so forth.Β  I find the best way to do this is with fire. I have a small fire-proof container to burn things in.

Spellcasting:

Write down on a small piece of paper what it is that you wish to rid yourself of. Fold the paper in half, envisioning your request happening i.e. see yourself thinner, thinking better thoughts etc (you may have to close your eyes to do this). Say to yourself;

I call upon the Goddesses of the night

To help me rid myself of this plight

Lend me your energy

To give me strength to

[insert request here]

Light the paper with the flame of the white candle. Place it in a fire-proof container and watch it burn. Again envision your request happening. When you’ve finished take a deep breath, hold it a couple moments, then slowly exhale and say “So Mote it Be” or whatever you feel comfortable saying. Some say ‘So let it be’, or ‘And it is so’.

If you wish, sit and watch the moon or meditate a while longer. When you’re done, snuff out each candle in order that you lit them and say “I thank you Guardian of the [North, East, South, West], elemental ruler of [earth, air, fire, water] for attending my rite. Go in peace.

NOTE: Don’t be upset if you still experience some of whatever it was you wanted gone. Sometimes things are so entrenched within us, that it takes some time to completely remove it. Also, if you’re new at this, you may feel uncomfortable doing ritual the first few times. That’s fine too. Just remember to do it again on the next full moon. Each time you do ritual, you increase your own confidence.

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

7 Responses to Full Moon Rite [New Revision]

  1. This was cool, thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  2. BigBear85 says:

    U always put out such interesting and personal post Darke, I love it bravo

Leave a Reply

