Veggie Garden-1, Chipmunk-0

It’s been a couple weeks since I posted pictures of the veggie garden. I’m surprised, the little critters have managed to keep out of it. I think it had something to do with my scent when I weeded. At least, that’s what I’m telling myself.

So, the veggies are doing really good. Even the ones we planted late.

The green pepper plant has started to flower,

And we have tomatoes on the vine.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The broccoli has floweretts already, which is surprising as it was one of the secondary veggies we planted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

These are the vines (l-r) cucumber, butternut squash, cucumber. No flowers yet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

These are the veggies we planted to replace the corn (top left) watermelon, (bottom left) early squash, (centre) corn, (bottom right) lettuce.

 

 

 

 

 

 

And then a whole pile of cauliflower. We have six plants total. I don’t know if I can eat that much cauliflower, though.

 

 

 

 

 

 

These are peas, green beans and yellow beans. Don’t ask me which are which. Husband planted them so I have no idea.

 

 

 

 

 

Oh, and beans/peas in a barrel. They started hooking on to each other and I had to break a few runners to pull them apart, but so far, so good.

I don’t know which surprises me more; the fact these are growing so well, or that I’m keeping up with the maintenance. We didn’t do a garden last year and the year before I was excited but that quickly changed. I don’t know why I changed this year. Maybe it’s all those reports I keep hearing about how we need to get back into eating real food.

 YES! I SEE YOU!

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

5 Responses to Veggie Garden-1, Chipmunk-0

  1. So far, so good!

    I always have trouble with cauliflower and broccoli. It’s just too hot down here. It bolts into flower too quickly.

    When you harvest the cucumbers, let me know if the flavor is cucumber-y enough. I’ve always heard that cukes should not be planted close to other squashes because they might share flavors and make the cucumbers blander. But then, I don’t know what ‘too close’ is.

  2. Looks like it’s coming along great! I’m so envious. My husband and grandson just built me a raised bed. We just got the soil for it, but we’ve been sick over here, so we haven’t put it in, yet. It will be interesting to see if I manage to grow some food or not.

    I agree that you don’t need much cauliflower. Try roasting it, with olive oil and salt. It’s actually good that way. Another good thing to do is to pickle it. It keeps longer, and it’s yummy!

    • Marlene, I can’t believe I’m still keeping up with it, to be honest. Must be all those posts of yours, warning me on the dangers of processed foods. 😛

  3. heh, heh. that’s funny. love the look of your garden though.

Leave a Reply

