Slow Blogging; Wave of the Future?

Have you heard about the latest blogging craze? Instead of losing your mind to come up with a witty or informative post every single day, Slow Blogging suggests you write two or three posts per week instead Talk about common sense finally!

http://annerallen.blogspot.ca/2012/06/slow-blog-manifestoand-8-reasons-why.html

I really like this idea simply because I hear more and more new writers say they’re told that they have to have a blog, and crack under the pressure of coming up with something new and interesting every day. I’m always telling them to do what feels natural; if you want to blog, blog. Same goes with Twitter too. I read a post from a successful writer who went to a convention and was shocked to hear a well-known agent claim that they didn’t encourage their writers to blog.

There is a debate brewing online whether or not blogging is even effective as a marketing tool, that it’s lost its usefulness because there are so many out there. One agency has decided to stop using their blog altogether (except for the odd post), as they no longer see it as a powerful medium.

http://bookendslitagency.blogspot.ca/2012/04/and-so-we-say-good-bye.html

I feel bad about this. Maybe, at the beginning, blogging was seen and used as a tool for writers to get people to buy their books, but it’s evolved into something much bigger now. It’s become an entity of its own, something used to connect to others for a social outlook. Readers are becoming more sophisticated about what they want to read on blogs. They want to know if they connect with you on some level whether it’s a hobby or likes and dislikes. They want to get to know you; know who you are, and isn’t connecting with your readers how you sell books?  

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

4 Responses to Slow Blogging; Wave of the Future?

  1. Being a follower of my blog, you know I don’t post often or on a regular schedule. I’d LIKE to, but it’s beyond me. It doesn’t bother me, because I don’t have time to read all the blog posts I follow. I’m usually relieved when someone I’m following skips a day or two of posts. I can use the time to catch up with someone else.

    I doubt I’m the only person who experiences this. Twitter is hopeless. I have a few thousand people I follow, but if I see one tweet all day, that’s saying something. I don’t have time to look at it.

    I like blogging though, and I like following other blogs. I get a lot of satisfaction and a feeling of community from blogs. I do wish my followers participated more – I’d love the give and take. But that comes down to give and get, I think. If I posted more on other people’s blogs, maybe they’d post more on mine. Or if I had the right kind of posts, that made people want to leave comments – but heck if I can figure out what that type of post is.

  2. I went to two posts a week last year because I knew I’d be starting the other blog soon and I didn’t want to overwhelm myself. I don’t know how some people with three or more blogs do it.

Leave a Reply

