Author Interview with Angela Addams.

Among the many writers I have met, I have connected with a few through our mutual love of gothic literature and culture. We love things that go bump in the night; venture into that dark part of human nature and create with the intent of scaring and tantalizing. While some shy away from this literature, we thrive in it, and it is with great pleasure that I bring you this interview with Angela Addams; author of the enovels GOING THE DISTANCE, GHOST BRIDE, and ASSASSIN.

So let’s begin…

1. Let’s get to know you a bit. Where are you from, and what genre do you write?

I’m from Southern Ontario, Canada and I write erotic romance…usually paranormal in nature (although quite recently I ventured into contemporary) and urban fantasy.

2. With all the risks and uncertainty around publishing, what was it that drew you to a career in writing?

I wouldn’t exactly call this a career, not yet anyway. I have a career (which is top secret 😉 that I love and that allows me time to write. I’ve always been a writer. From the time that I first learned how to print words, I was writing and sharing my stories. I guess I’ve always kind of considered it a hobby. Until about five years ago I hadn’t actually thought of pursuing publication…I kinda figured that was a dream for someone else, not really attainable for me. (I’ve had a very major bumps along my writing road that have impacted my confidence in ways). After finishing my first “novel” for a contest, I kind of shook free from the mistaken notion that I couldn’t have my dream and from then on have been taking it a lot more seriously. Got myself an agent (x2 –but that’s a whole other story) and have had a few stories published in that time.

3. Now that you have a few books under your belt, what’s your take on the whole process? What was the hardest part for you? What was the easiest?

The hardest part for me is getting past the opening scene. I always get the beginning rolling out in my head like a movie, so it’s super easy to write…then I realize I have to continue and I always have a mini-panic attack where I think…uh, how do I do this again? lol That’s when the plotting starts –just jot notes that are very rough –and the panic eases away so I can write.

4. Let’s talk a little about your latest project. Give us some tantalizing details.

Well, that’s a tricky question to answer. I’ve got a bunch of projects in the works right now. The one I consider “the major” project is with my agent. We’ve been working on it together for two years now. It’s an urban fantasy about a women who finds out she’s a witch because she’s being hunted by a vampire who wants her blood for more than just a snack. I’m also working on a novella and a spin off novel about a werewolf and a werewolf hunter…all of which are hot and sexy, I assure you 😉 I’ve also been experimenting with some erotica written in second person so the reader feels like they are actually there…pretty steamy stuff.

5. Let’s talk about erotica for a bit. Is there anything in particular that drew you to this genre?

What drew me to writing erotic romance was reading erotic romance. I really, really enjoyed devouring novels with lots of hot and steamy scenes and it made me mad as all hell if the author faded to black or diluted the passion. Reading erotic romance and writing it are two very different things though.

6. How do you approach writing those steamy scenes?

The first time I wrote an erotic scene it was…um…awkward. Getting the words right, making sure the actions matched the emotions and that body parts weren’t doing things they shouldn’t or couldn’t be doing was tricky. It’s gotten easier over time and with practice and I find myself exploring and experimenting more to up the erotic content of my work.

7. What does your family think of your choice for writing erotica? Have there been problems?

My family knows, but I’ve forbidden my mom and dad from reading my stuff…that’s just too creepy for me to handle. Everyone else knows and has read and thinks it’s great. It doesn’t bother them in the least that I’m writing about sex. I don’t let it be known outside of my close friends and family members though.

8. What advice would you give to a new author who wants to write erotica?

Hmmmmmm….write what you know? lol Just kidding…although it does help to have experienced some of the things you’re writing about…that and you need a vivid imagination for the things you haven’t. When it comes to erotica you have to have a lot of passion for what you’re writing; it should stir up emotions in you while you’re writing it and rereading it, otherwise I just don’t see how it will stir up emotions in your readers.

9. As a reader, what are some things that attract you to a story?

The characters…and sex…lol.
It depends on the genre, to be honest. If I’m reading urban fantasy then I am attracted to a strong female character who can kick some ass and still be super sexy. Paranormal romance…I’m looking for that delicious alpha male and and equally as strong female love interest. The story must be good, and the writing has to be better than mediocre. I think as a writer, I tend to nit-pick a little more than the average reader would so sometimes I have to put a book down that others can’t seem to get enough of.

10. Most writers have manuscripts that will never see the light of day. Do you have a few of those or will they eventually come out?

I have a few of those. I tried revisiting one, but it’s so bad that it’s really unfixable. The idea is good though…might end up reconstructing something using parts of the plot and character but otherwise starting from scratch. I have another ms that I wrote two years ago and then rewrote last year, then trunked thinking that it was just complicated for fixing. That year of rest has allowed me to come up with some ways to fix it and now I’m revising and loving it again, so we’ll see.

For fun questions.

1. If you could be any breed of dog, what would it be?
I would be a schnauzer…I freakin love their mustaches!

2. Is there one food/beverage that you can’t live without?
Yes, chocolate, rum, steak and french fries. Oh…you said one…okay, if I had to pick then it would be bacon. 🙂

3. Bungee jumping: exhilarating hobby or death wish?
I’d like to try it…at least once. I’d probably barf afterward but at least I can say I gave it a go. It’s safe right? *shrug* You only live once, better make it count, right?

4. What is your favourite movie?
Beetlejuice 😀

5. Question from Sithboy; If you were a Jedi, what colour would your lightsabre be; green, blue, yellow, red, or purple?
I pick purple. I like purple. (Does that make me evil or something? I really have no idea.)

 

Every day is Halloween for author Angela Addams. Enthralled by the paranormal at an early age, Angela spends most of her time thinking up new story ideas that involve supernatural creatures in everyday situations.

Well, until now, that is. Angela has recently expanded her creative repertoire to include contemporary erotica, because the written word is an amazing tool for crafting the most erotic of scenarios even if there are no werewolves in sight.

She lives in Ontario, Canada with her loving husband and children.

 

 

 

 

 

To learn more about Angela Addams, please click the links below.

www.angelaaddams.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/angelaaddams

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/people/Angela-Addams/100002825504020

Amazon Author Central: http://www.amazon.com/Angela-Addams/e/B005JOTBPM

 

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4801196.Angela_Addams?origin=

 

 

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

5 Responses to Author Interview with Angela Addams.

  1. Thanks for having me on your blog, Darke!

  2. Marvelous interview! Good luck Angela!

  3. Pingback: Authors, authors everywhere!! « Darke Conteur

Leave a Reply

