Friday Writing Update

Another short post this week. Between my sore back and the almost unbearable heat, I’m lucky I got any writing done.

 

Novel: Tales of the Demon

I’ve got the first five chapters written in rough draft. I want to take my time with this. It’s coming up to a crucial point and I don’t want the reader to be shaking their head trying to figure out what the hell is going on.

Side Novel: The Possession of Mercy Moreau

This project has evolved from a single book, to a small series. Not only that, I’ve changed the background from modern to Victorian. I think the time change would make for a richer story and I wasn’t sure if I could still call it a Gothic novel if it was set in modern times. Bugger thing is, I had to delete the outline as well. It’s a completely different story now that it’s set in Victorian-era Canada. If I want to stay true to the time period, there will be things my MC won’t be able to do. I deleted the old story and started fresh. Sadly, I’m more excited about this story than my paranormal series.

 

Short Stories:

I plotted out two more short stories this week. They’re in the erotica genre; one is contemporary and the other is dark fantasy.

Short Story WIP One – The Delivery [w/t] (contemporary erotica)

Short Story WIP Two – Seductress [w/t] (dark fantasy erotica)

To date, I have four scifi shorts published and a couple paranormal and one erotic. I’d like to have four or five of each published so readers can have a wide range of free material to read to figure out if they like my writing or not.

I sent out ‘Trip of a Lifetime’ again. It used to be up at The Absent Willow Review, but since they went under, everything reverted back to me. I’d like to get it out again so people can read it. I could put it on my blog, but there’s something satisfying with having a stranger validate my work.

 

Other Updates/News

I have to share this review for THE WATCHTOWER with you. Wow, was NOT expecting this kind of praise.

http://afstewartblog.blogspot.ca/2012/07/a-fantasy-to-watch-review-of-watchtower.html

Wow! Just…wow!

Good news! OF COVENS AND PACKS is now on the BN site and iTunes! Still waiting for Kobo.

So how have the last couple weeks been for you?

About Darke Conteur
Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal it to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing or working with crystals, she enjoys knitting, gardening, cooking and very loud music.

2 Responses to Friday Writing Update

  1. It’s a wonderful review! I’ll bet it made your day. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

